The Golden Crystal by Nick Thacker


The Golden Crystal by Nick Thacker

The Golden Crystal
by Nick Thacker

 

My rating:  4  of 5  stars

 

Plot
(by Turtleshell Press)
In 1791, two men began planning the layout for the nation’s capital city. One is shunned and resigns in disgrace, and the other is all but forgotten. Years later, an original copy of the plans long thought to have been destroyed is found, with hastily marked notations by Thomas Jefferson and George Washington.

During the second World War, American military scientists discover some fascinating properties of the hydrogen atom and its link to an ancient mystical number. The exact findings are never published, but a national laboratory is built in 1943 to further their research in covert silence. America is told it is a defence project, code-named The Manhattan Project.

An ego-maniacal entrepreneur and his company, Vilocorp, will stop at nothing to build the perfect human specimen. His firm’s research has been getting closer every day, but they seem to have uncovered a horrific, ancient secret that has been locked away for thousands of years.

Now, it’s up to two men to understand the mystery surrounding the events and ancient symbolism before Vilocorp unleashes a hellish fury upon the earth; one that hasn’t been seen for ages…

The Author
My name is Nick, and I’m a 25-year-old self-declared “life hacker” and writer. I love to blog (www.livehacked.com), read, and create awesome things, and I’m currently living in Colorado Springs with a beautiful wife and two dogs.
I’ve written a fiction thriller (similar in style to James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Steve Barry) called The Golden Crystal. I’m raising money to finish the editing process, and you can read more about why I chose to self-publish here.
In addition, I recently finished a short book meant to help creators and writers think, vision, and plan their blog, called Building A Blog for Readers: 101 Questions to Ask Before Launching Your Empire.
My writing “career” has been fun and a great learning experience so far, and you can find some of my guest posts on the web by visiting this page.
I love to connect and interact with people and readers. If you’ve met me offline, you know that’s true, and it’s the same online. Find me on Twitter, Facebook, and Google+, and connect with me.

My Opinion

As an avid crime (fiction) reader I have read thousands of books.  Getting into the story took some pages as I needed to get used to the switches between locations and groups  Once I understood this structural pattern, getting to like the story was a piece of cake. As you realize the associations you feel the need to continue reading.  As you get to know the protagonists, you feel certain that Captain Bryce Reynolds is a rather good guy.  The rivalling parties James Whittenfield and Tanning Vilocek as well as their teams drag Bryce and some others around the world.

The plot provides a mixture of history, adventure, and greed leading to brutality. Readers may be torn.  True, this is certainly not a bedtime story – rather a combination of hardcore thriller and science fiction.  There are tons of other books with at least the same amount of brutality, so be it.  This book is worth reading.  Nick Thacker is a promising author, worth following.

I could consider “The Golden Crystal” as movie material e.g. for fantasy film festivals.

Available at
Amazon

My statement on reading is described in My train of thoughts on …reading. Now I am asking you. 🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you? What did you think about “The Golden Crystal”? Or – if you did not yet read “The Golden Crystal” – are you now interested?

My question for you cinephiles:
If “The Golden Crystal” was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to your comments.

Leave a reply :-)

