Alligators Overhead by C. Lee McKenzie


Alligators Overhead by C. Lee McKenzie

Alligators Overhead
by
C. Lee McKenzie

 

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

 

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Alligators, witches and a spooky mansion aren’t your average neighbors unless you live at the edge of the Ornofree swamp in the backwater town of Hadleyville.  The town’s bad boy, Pete Riley, may only be twelve, but he’s up to his eyeballs in big trouble, and this time he isn’t the cause.  This time the trouble arrives when a legendary hundred-year-old mansion materializes next door and the Ornofree alligators declare war to save their swamp from bulldozers.  Things only get worse when Pete’s guardian aunt and several of her close friends vanish while trying to restore order using outdated witchcraft.  Now Pete must find the witches and stop the war.  He might stand a chance if his one friend, Weasel, sticks with him, but even then, they may not have what it takes.

My Opinion

As an experienced adventures (fiction) reader I truly liked the story’s decent evolution.  Pete and Weasel do seem familiar.  I had the feeling I could have met them anywhere.  They were both that real.  C. Lee McKenzie lets reality meet magic (‘magick’) and you cannot help but buy into this story.  I actually held my breath several times.  And I was unable to put my eReader down.  😉  All characters are very convincing and fit perfectly into the plot.

C. Lee McKenzie (http://cleemckenziebooks.com/) successfully shows us the world in Hadleyville through a 12-year-old’s eyes.

A must read for all adventure fans.

I am looking forward to reading further adventures by C. Lee McKenzie.

Alligators Overhead as a movie?!  Why not?!

My statement on reading is described in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Alligators Overhead?  Or – if you did not yet read Alligators Overhead – are you now interested in reading it yourself or buying it for your children?

My question for you cinephiles:
Could you imagine Alligators Overhead filmed and how – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to your comments.

Leave a reply :-)

