Missing Time (313 series, 1 of 3) by J. David Clarke


Missing_TimeMy rating:  4  of  5  stars

 

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Eight students. A lonely bridge on a dark night. When their school bus careens off the bridge and crashes into the river, they are lucky just to survive. But soon, they discover they possess strange powers, like the power to read minds, to fly, or to resurrect the dead. And that’s just the beginning. None of them knows exactly what happened, and each remembers something different. Now, they are being hunted down one by one, and to survive they must piece together their memories and solve the mystery of the missing time.

My Opinion

“You were on the bus with me.” It is amazing how this first statement gets to you. Certainly not when reading it at the beginning of the prologue. The importance and/or meaning becomes crystal clear as the story proceeds. “You were on the bus with me.” has “Call me Ishmael.” quality.

After the prologue, you meet the students chapter-wise. Right after the first paragraphs I realised that I was already trying to get a grip on what happened to them.  Just a few pages into the story you realise that this is not a simple task. The story evolves by presenting each protagonist hopping back and forth between their lives before, during and after the accident. This is a very distinctive style, a style that does not make it an easy read, yet attracts the reader to continue. Meet Kevin, Brandon, Simon, Heather, Mia, Becca, Zachary, Tyler, Max, and Carl because I will not tell you more. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With this first volume of a series, J. David Clarke proves that it is not required to give never-ending descriptions or have to keep a flow. You can clearly imagine what the protagonists have to go through. Missing Time perhaps seems to be a complicated read at first – however, you get used to it pretty fast.

As I have already finished Time Spent (“313” series, 2 of 3) I am now looking forward to reading the third book in the 313 series: Time Lost.   🙂

J. David Clarke is a native Texan who was published in the literary journal of Tarrant County Junior College before moving on to become a Fine Arts graduate of Southwest Texas State University. He is an author, occasional blogger, and lover of all things nerd: comics, science fiction, fantasy, roleplaying, and gaming.

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/clarketacular

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6915543.J_David_Clarke

http://clarketaculartales.wordpress.com

A must read for all readers who enjoy adventures with twists and turns in an everyday environment.

I am looking forward to reading more of J. David Clarke’s books. I am currently reading The Wizard In My Window, please stay tuned for the upcoming review.

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Missing Time?  Or – if you did not yet read Missing Time – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

 

10 thoughts on “Missing Time (313 series, 1 of 3) by J. David Clarke

  1. Pingback: The Wizard in My Window by J. David Clarke | My train of thoughts on...

  2. Pingback: 10 Statements – J. David Clarke | My train of thoughts on...

  3. Pingback: Time Spent (313 series, 2 of 3) by J. David Clarke | My train of thoughts on...

    • I liked your first two books of the 313 series immensely. Don’t hurry. I will read it as soon as it is available. In the meantime I am enjoying The Wizard In My Window.
      Further reviews follow. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Missing Time (313 series, 1 of 3) by J. David Clarke | Clarketacular Tales

Leave a reply :-)

