10 Statements – Jessica P. West


Jessica212smaller

Jessica P. West

I have three beautiful daughters who give me the perfect excuse to procrastinate on a daily basis and a wonderfully independent husband who doesn’t take offense at being left to his own devices when I want to write. I escape to my garden as often as possible, and read my Kindle for at least thirty minutes every night, religiously.

Links to blogs/websites

 

Blog Write This Way

Twitter @West1Jess

Google + Jessica West

Goodreads Jess West

Wattpad Jessica P. West

 

My personal motto:

My personal motto changes as I grow and learn, but for now my motto is:

You won’t get far carrying the weight of the world on your shoulders. The weight of a moment, no matter what that moment holds, is bearable. – Jessica P. West, 2013.12.20

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… Coffee. Lots and lots of coffee. And a quick check of Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Goodreads that sometimes turns into the best conversations ever. I love social networking sites and the camaraderie I have found with like minded individuals via those sites.
  2. I lose track of time… when I’m gaming or reading. I know, shame on me. A writer who loses herself in a world someone else made up.
  3. I have always… been a writer. I’ve always loved to read, but only recently started writing. I didn’t decide to be a writer. I enrolled in a beginning writer’s online course, just to have something to do with my time. With the very first lesson, I realized that I’d been missing something very obvious. I have always been a writer.
  4. I have never… murdered anyone. Ya know, in real life.
  5. Home means to me… family. I have many homes. My father and his family are my home. My mother and her family are my home. My husband and our daughters are my home. I have a full life, a complete heart and a loving home waiting for me wherever I go.
  6. I am inspired by… art, in any form. Other writers especially. I read a new blog post by a Twitter friend this morning and realized that his “voice” (or my version of it) showed up in my most recent work. People who create inspire me, especially those that I feel a sort of connection with, no matter how tenuous that connection may be.
  7. I would like to meet… I just read Ann Bisky’s ten statements, so maybe that’s influenced me, but I’m gonna have to go with my Twitter friends. Some, I’d like to have coffee or tea with. Others, wine. Drunk writers are hilarious, especially when I’m drinking.
  8. My worst character trait… the need for approval. I have several character flaws, but that one gets me down more often than the rest. As much as I like being flattered and complimented (Who doesn’t?), I don’t like being the center of attention. If I were sitting at a table amongst friends and everyone turned to look at me as I spoke, I’d blush and stammer, unable to utter a complete sentence.
  9. My best character trait… my nice side. I’ll go out of my way to be kind to someone I believe in or someone who is kind to me.
  10. The best advice I was given… on my wedding day, my mom asked me to name the things I loved the most about the man who would become my husband. After recounting the reasons I was marrying him, she said to me, (and I’m paraphrasing here) “One day, you’ll forget those things. When that day comes, remember this one. Remember that you love him as he is.”
11 thoughts on “10 Statements – Jessica P. West

  1. Pingback: Julie’s Book Review: Jessica West | Write This Way

  2. Pingback: Massacre at Red River Ridge | Prose Before Ho Hos

  3. Dear Karen,
    The old year was generous to bring you to us!
    We wish you and your family a brand new year full of love, health, wealth and happiness!!!
    From the heart ❤
    Yelloz & Family

    • Dear Yelloz & Family,
      Thank you for these kind words!
      I wish you all a wonderful new year also comprising love, health, wealth and happiness! (an awesome combination)
      Kind regards, 🙂
      Karen

  4. Pingback: 10 Statements – Jessica P. West | Jessica P. West

    • Thanks for your kind words, Jessica. A great author is always worth 10 Statements. As one of my favourite authors you are the perfect choice!

Leave a reply :-)

