10 Statements – Carol Balawyder


Carol_BalawyderI am retired but taught Police Technology, Corrections and English at a college in Montreal for most of my career. I’ve published teaching manuals in both English and French and a few short stories, which, if you wish, you can read on my website.

Although I wrote and self-published a memoir on grief (again details are on my website) my focus in writing is truly on the novel: I tend to write literary gentle crime and women’s fiction, particularly about their relationships with their fathers and their middle-aged love lives and dreams.

When I’m not writing or blogging you’ll likely me find me at the Y practicing yoga or following a Pilates class.

Pastries

 

 

If you’re roaming around my web site check out my daughter’s pastries. I’d love to hear from you.

 

http://www.carolbalawyder.com

 

 

My personal motto:

There’s Always A Silver Lining.

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… my having a cup of tea in bed while reading something to wake up my writing muscles.
  2. I lose track of time… I’m really immersed in a scene or when I’m with friends having fun.
  3. I have always… wanted to have an office overlooking the ocean.
  4. I have never… been very competitive.
  5. Home means to me… security, solace and calmness.
  6. I am inspired by… people who do unselfish acts and are humble about them.
  7. I would like to meet… my mother. She has been dead now for five years this Christmas. There are so many things that remained unspoken, in particular my gratitude for her encouragement in my interest in writing.
  8. My worst character trait… is being impatient.
  9. My best character trait… is being a good listener.
  10. The best advice I was given… was from my mother: Always have your own money.

 

2 thoughts on “10 Statements – Carol Balawyder

Leave a reply :-)

