I Dream of Zombies (Rose Lee’s Zombie Adventures series, #1) by Charlotte Gerber


I_Dream_of_ZombiesMy rating:  5  of  5  stars

Disclaimer:  Alana Munro provided me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review for Reach for the Stars Book Reviews.

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Being a zombie counselor was not Rose Lee’s dream job. However, there was a growing need for people who were willing to work with clients that smelled bad, were falling apart, and had a propensity for bad behavior. She decided to put her college degree to work, and try to help out her fellow man, or rather fellow zombies.

When Rose meets a soon-to-be zombie waitress at the Crispy Biscuit, things go from bad to worse. She tangles with zombie landlords, zombie hunters, undercover zombies and mercenaries, just to name a few.

Rose tackles all of her problems straight on, whether she is taking out a thug in the supermarket parking lot or saving a cop’s life at the playground. She battles the dark underbelly of post-apocalypse Hornellsville, and proves that she is more than just a pretty girl named after a famous stripper.

Brief Summary

Being a zombie counselor was not Rose Lee’s dream job.  However, there was a growing need for people who were willing to work with clients that smelled bad, were falling apart, and had a propensity for bad behavior.  She decided to put her college degree to work, and try to help out her fellow man, or rather fellow zombies.

When Rose meets a soon-to-be zombie waitress at the Crispy Biscuit, things go from bad to worse.  She has run-ins with zombie landlords, zombie hunters, undercover zombies and mercenaries, just to name a few.

Rose tackles all of her problems straight on, whether she is taking out a thug in the supermarket parking lot or saving a cop’s life at the playground.  She battles the dark underbelly of post-apocalypse Hornellsville, and proves that she is more than just a pretty girl named after a famous stripper.

Charlotte Gerber about I Dream of Zombies

I wrote this book to be a humorous take on the typical zombies in pop culture.  My friends and I had been talking about the actual logistics of being a zombie.  If you are falling apart, as zombies often are, how could you possibly run, let alone have the physical strength to kill other humans?  How could they chew through someone’s skull to get at a brain if their teeth are falling out?  Shouldn’t they be protected under the American’s with Disabilities Act?

Rose Lee, a character named after the famous stripper, Gypsy Rose Lee, is just trying to get through life after losing her parents to the zombie disease.  Her brother, Zane, has also gone missing after a lab “accident” at work.

Several new people come into her life, and after putting up walls around herself after the zombie apocalypse, she may be ready to trust again.  She carries hiking boots, a baseball bat, and lethal pepper grenades in the trunk of her car (named Beulah), just in case the people, or zombies, that she meets can’t be trusted.

My Opinion

The book introduces you to Rose Lee. To quote my husband ‘I liked her right from the start’. You can easily relate to the characters you meet in this story. Please just think your own world plus the zombies. This story seems to be the beginning of a real great horror comedy. Some scenes are truly hilarious. Of course there are also rather serious occurrences – as in real life. This plot is based on a great concept, taking me in, immediately  I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description and the brief summary above. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With this first volume of Rose Lee’s Zombie Adventures series, Charlotte Gerber provides us with a promising start of horror-comedy series. If you liked the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich or enjoyed watching Warm Bodies you will very probably like I Dream of Zombies a lot. A good read for all readers who enjoy horror comedies in an everyday and sometimes quite different environment.

You can see, that I really enjoyed reading I Dream of Zombies. I am now looking forward to reading the second book in Charlotte Gerber’s Rose Lee’s Zombie Adventures series.   🙂

 

Charlotte Gerber became a full-time writer in 2004. She has written for numerous websites, most recently for the New York Times subsidiary, About.com on their Disability channel.

Connect with Charlotte :

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about I Dream of Zombies?  Or – if you did not yet read I Dream of Zombies – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

5 thoughts on “I Dream of Zombies (Rose Lee’s Zombie Adventures series, #1) by Charlotte Gerber

  1. I’m glad that you and your husband enjoyed the book! I had a lot of fun writing it. I’m in the middle of writing the sequel – Zombie Asylum. Rose will be working as an activities director at the local asylum. It will be funny, and chaotic!

    • It wasn’t difficult to like I Dream of Zombies. I like the plot, and your style is a perfect fit for the story. I am looking forward to the sequel and – a heartfelt thank you for introducing Rose Lee!

Leave a reply :-)

