Am I resisting this moment? Or am I allowing it to be?


Food for thought…

MindMedicine Blog

When you are resisting the present moment (moaning, complaining, feelings of negativity, resisting situations, resisting life) you are not only holding yourself back, but you are opposing the natural flow of life. As Bruce Lee said ‘‘be like water’’, don’t fight or resist anything, flow with life. The more you moan and complain that life or the present moment should be anything different than it is, the more you hold yourself right back. The more you flow with life and allow it to be, the more you open up, and become aware of, the infinite possibilities that are available in each and every moment.

As you think, as you breath, as you walk, ask yourself; ‘‘am I resisting this moment? Or am I allowing it to be?’’

If you are allowing, then enjoy it, milk it, and exaggerate it. Enjoy the feelings of inner peace and inner freedom…

View original post 292 more words

9 thoughts on “Am I resisting this moment? Or am I allowing it to be?

  1. Such depth to this post, Karen! I’ve had similar situations where things didn’t work out as I’d thought when I resisted the change. It was only when I went with the flow that things worked out.

    BTW, LOVE Bruce Lee!

    • A great book about dealing with change is ‘Who Moved My Cheese” by Dr. Spencer Johnson. I read it after I had learned to deal with change the hard way. Definitely a book to re-read.

  2. I have a favorite quote by LaoTzu : “If you are depressed you are living in the past. If you are anxious you are living in the future. If you are at peace you are living in the present.”
    It’s really a challenge to live in the present, but once achieved, the reward is unique 🙂
    Thank you for sharing this post 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Servant Z&Yelloz

  3. I have a lovely stone I picked up at Sedona in Arizona. Engraved on a metal plate attached to the stone are the words ‘Breathe in Breathe out’. I try to pick the stone up once a day! SD

    • Works like a worry stone! I love them. The first one was of Connemara marble, after two years it broke into three pieces. Even if you do not really believe in worry stones – it is a moment to calm down, reflect, and – move on. 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

