3 Quotes – Literary Agents


Having a literary agent makes a huge difference in submitting work. My agent has access and tremendous passion.

Jacqueline Carey, American author
born:  1964
died:  –

My first novel took almost six years to sell and was rejected 37 times in the interim, and then finally sold for the smallest amount of money my literary agent had ever negotiated for a work of fiction.

Daniel Handler, American author
born:  February 28, 1970
died:  –

I call myself a literary agent simply to distinguish myself from actors’ agents.

Irving Paul Lazar, American businessman
born:  March 28, 1907
died:  December 30, 1993

 

Which are your favourite ‘literary agent’ quotes?  😀

 

This blog post – quotes on literary agents – was requested by Carol Balawyder. Thank you very much, Carol. The research was quite interesting.   🙂

 

12 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Literary Agents

  1. Hello Karen… I loved these quotes as they are more specific than some other topics. And as a matter of fact literary agents are like the hidden hand beneath the writer´s hand… I liked the third one the most. Best wishes, happy friday and weekend ahead, Aquileana 😉

    • Hello Aquileana… Thank you very much! Several quote posts ago I asked for suggestions. Carol asked for quotes on literary agents. Please feel free to suggest quote topics anytime. Best wishes, happy Friday and an awesome weekend! Karen 🙂

  2. Well, I don’t have a literary agent quote but I do have an ordinary quote I’d like to share, if that’s okay? 🙂 “If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.” ~Tony Robbins

    This quote actually changed my view about what I need to do to become a success. Very inspiring!

    • This is more than just an ordinary quote, Jack. This is a quote I would have featured within the next weeks as well. It is a very helpful one. 🙂

  3. Thank you for doing this research. These are really interesting quotes. I feel for Daniel Handler. Six years to sell. Just goes to show that persistence is a necessity…those who get published are those who don’t give up…who said that, anyway?

    • You are welcome, Carol. It took a while to find them – research can be thrilling and inspiring – and is always fun. Daniel Handler truly had a hard time. “Never give up!” is a useful motto.

Leave a reply :-)

