10 Statements – Topaz Winters


02 B&W

Topaz Winters is a fourteen year old singer/songwriter and author.  When she is not staying up until four AM on a steady diet of coffee and cheesecake, writing her heart out, she can be found exploring musical frontiers with her eccentric collection of band mates or playing with her Japanese Spitz puppy, Hachii. Topaz’s debut novel, Frozen Hearts, drops in January of 2014, and her debut album, Falling Star, later on in the same year.  Topaz does not yet know her path in life, but she is stopping to smell the roses on the way.

You can connect with me at:

 

My personal motto:

“This love is brave and wild enough.” It’s a lyric from a song I love, and it serves to remind me that if I love something enough to fight for it, then that love will always be enough to achieve it.  🙂

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… stretching luxuriously, lying in bed for another half an hour trying to work up the motivation to get up, and finally forcing myself out of bed and drinking my coffee in order to wake up properly. (This is assuming we’re talking about weekends here, considering I’m still in school and don’t have the leisure of a “real” work day!)  😉
  2. I lose track of time… when I’m reading, singing, or writing. My family has learned not to disturb me when I’m in one of “those moods” – generally because when I’m interrupted, I tend to trail around with a vacant look on my face and require a question to be asked three times before I comprehend it!
  3. I have always… been a hopeless romantic.
  4. I have never… published a novel. Yet.  😉
  5. Home means to me… no specific place, really – just the feeling of belonging, and being loved unconditionally.
  6. I am inspired by… people who achieve their dreams despite impossible odds stacked against them.
  7. I would like to meet… oh gosh, so many people. The list is endless; I can’t choose just one.
  8. My worst character trait… I’m ridiculously sensitive. Sometimes I take critiques way too personally and I have to remind myself that no, I’m not a terrible writer – I just have some things to work on, just like the rest of the millions of other writers in the world!
  9. My best character trait… I’ve never been one to let things hold me back from doing what I really want to do. If something is important to me, I will never give up until I find a way to make it happen.
  10. The best advice I was given… “Life doesn’t owe you anything.”

 

21 thoughts on “10 Statements – Topaz Winters

  1. Pingback: Scholastic Art & Writing (Plus 10 Statements!) |

  2. Pingback: Scholastic Art & Writing (Plus 10 Statements!) | Topaz Winters: The Official Website

  3. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, everyone! 🙂 Karen, it was a pleasure doing this; can’t wait to see more 10 Statements in the future. xx

    • Thank you so much for contributing, Topaz. Your statements are very impressive. 🙂
      Whenever you want to guest post on my blog, just let me know.

    • Indeed, Tom. *sighs*
      Topaz is very talented. She actually let me use a song snippet for my short story ‘The Scent of Cinnamon’ – it fit in perfectly!

Leave a reply :-)

