Lark-Ellen by Stan Smith


Lark-Ellen

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (ePub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Teo Bojorquez tells the tale of what happened on the plateau of Xitapec, a story of love, loss, and unimaginable horror.

“The jungle in the morning is a wonderful place: the stirrings of small creatures, the echo of birdsong, the sun filtering through a vaulted green ceiling—I had never loved it as much as I did then.

I doubt if I will ever love it again.”

 

My Opinion

This book introduces Teofilo Bojorquez. He tells a man about the events related to his brother on the plateau of Xitapec.

There are some interesting turns – quite unexpected. There are also situations you half expected – hoping they would not occur. I cannot tell you more as every further remark might ruin the thrill of reading it. It is a remarkable story, a story worth to be read again.

 

About the author

Stan Smith has been a DJ, an ice truck driver, door-to-door encyclopaedia salesman, assistant manager of one of L.A.’s largest theaters, manager of a coffee store, a title insurance officer, a copywriter for the Washington Post, and a 30-year marketing communicator for a major defense contractor. He retired to Oregon in 2012, and lives with his wife, four dogs, two goats, and two sheep. He is at work on his next novel.

 

Related article:

https://mytrainofthoughtson.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/the-search-for-bryant-hunter-by-stan-smith/

 

+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ ++++++ +++ +++ +++ +++

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Lark-Ellen?  Or – if you did not yet read Lark-Ellen – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Lark-Ellen was filmed – who should direct it/them, who could you imagine as actors? Which would be your favourite story to watch?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Lark-Ellen by Stan Smith

  1. I find it so difficult, in my enthusiasm for a book I’ve just finished reading, to write a review without inadvertently giving away plot spoilers! SD

    • It is very difficult, indeed. Especially in case of a short story, a review has to be extremely brief. I feel that I am often walking a thin line between a possibly too short review and giving away spoilers. I tend to keep the reviews shorter.

  2. Sounds… chilling, to be honest. But then, I kind of have a soft spot for horror, so I’ll have to look for it and see if I like it! 😉

    • It is chilling, indeed. This story triggers your imagination, so you may really like it, whereas someone else will think differently. Stan Smith has the ability to surprise his readers, great! 🙂

  3. Sounds interesting! I’m no horror connoisseur so I wouldn’t be best placed to say who should direct it, but it sounds like it would be pretty decent film!

    • It often seems difficult to imagine a short story as a film. In this case I am convinced that it can be a pretty decent one. The story triggers your imagination. If the director plays with your imagination instead of inventing splatter, you’d be thrilled, Tom.

Leave a reply :-)

