3 Quotes – Books


Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.

Maya Angelou, American poet

born:  April 4, 1928
died:  –

Books were this wonderful escape for me because I could open a book and disappear into it, and that was the only way out of that house when I was a kid.

Dean Koontz, American author
born:  July 9, 1945
died:  –

A book should serve as the axe for the frozen sea within us.

Franz Kafka, Czech novelist
born:  July 3, 1883
died:  June 3, 1924

 

Which are your favourite ‘book’ quotes?  🙂


 

25 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Books

  1. Great selection. I love Joyce Carol Oates;
    ‘Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul’.

    • Thank you very much, Cathy! This is also a great quote. Searching for quotes is wonderful. This time I came across Frank Kafka’s quote that I had almost forgotten.

  2. Well, I don’t have any book quotes to share, however, I do love the Dean Koontz quote you have there. It’s so true to know we can easily escape where we are simply by opening a book and immerse ourselves into it. Such a great quote!

    • Thank you, Jack. Dean Koontz’ quote is a very important one. Something that non-readers fail to understand. That there are stories which take you elsewhere, challenge you, let you find out stuff about yourself you never knew, etc.

  3. I LOVE this post, Karen! What amazing quotes you always choose. ⭐
    My favourite bookish quote (among many!): “I can feel infinitely alive curled up on the sofa reading a book.” It describes me, and many of my reader friends, so well!

  4. Good choices! I like this one from Dr. Seuss (Oh The Places You Will Go)… “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

    • Thank you very much, Carrie! This quote from Dr. Seuss is awesome. 🙂
      Searching for adequate quotes is fun and time-consuming. There are way more than only three I would like to show. The book topic is certainly repeated with other fine quotes.

Leave a reply :-)

