10 Statements – Sandra Thompson


IMG_0009

My daughter and myself over 20 years ago. My daughter and the memories we share are so important to me.

 

I was born in Bishop Aukland, County Durham, and lived in Shildon until I was four. My father was a cruel and violent man and my mother and I left him fearing for our lives. We lived in the small farming village of Summerhouse until I was ten years old, when my mother re-married and we moved to Brompton-on-Swale, North Yorkshire. I began to write stories when I was in High School, which made me popular with me peers, who enjoyed reading them. I wrote about a life of romance and adventure. The life I wish I had.

I married a British Soldier in 1977 and we moved every three or four years. It was a good life. My current story ‘Dead of July’ is based on the time I spent in Germany, and heavily influenced by the characters I met in the British Army. My daughter, Joanna, was born in Germany in 1984.

CIMG1215

My daughter on the day she got engaged. Seeing her so happy made it a very special day. The wedding is in June.

In 1995 I moved to Colorado with my husband and daughter, and have lived here ever since. I love Colorado. The only place I would rather live is Italy, a country that I visit often.

I seem to have found my niche in the US, and have made a great many friends. My nickname is CrazyBrit, which I take as a compliment. Who wants to be normal?

I self-published two short stories in 2009, which received many good reviews, encouraging me to continue writing. It’s difficult balancing a full time job, writing, and planning a wedding, but I’m getting it done.

Dead of July was three years in the making and is the book I hopes will launch my career as a writer. I have lots of stories to tell.

Links:

Link to my blog:  http://wordsfrombeyond.wordpress.com/

Link to purchase my e-Book and paperback on Amazon:  http://amzn.to/Rez7bz

My personal motto:

“Don’t lie in bed dreaming about what you want to do, get up and achieve your dreams. Life is short, don’t procrastinate.”

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… a good cup of DazBog coffee and a view of the beautiful Rocky Mountains.
  2. I lose track of time… I sit down to write my latest novel, or read a good book, especially a Stephen King Classic like The Stand, or Dr. Sleep.
  3. I have always… had an over-active imagination. I can make an adventure out of the most mundane situation.
  4. I have never… been tempted to skydive or bungee jump. The thought of both of those things terrifies me.
  5. Home means to me… sitting around a dinner table with close friends and family, enjoying good food, good conversation and good wine. It usually involves lots of reminiscing and laughter.
  6. I am inspired by… by life. It’s so unique. Look at the people and places that surround us. I love to travel and meet new people.
  7. I would like to meet… Michelle and Barack Obama and Johnny Depp. They are all smart fascinating people.
  8. My worst character trait… is thinking everything that goes wrong is my fault.
  9. My best character trait… my sense of humor, and quick thinking. I can turn a bad situation around very quickly. I laugh loud, hard and often, especially at myself.
  10. The best advice I was given… “Live every day as though it is your last. Don’t do or say anything you wouldn’t like to see on the front page of the newspaper.”

 

Girl on the Beach by Sandra Thompson

Girl on the Beach
by
Sandra Thompson

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

Dead of July
by
Sandra Thompson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Related article:   Book review – Dead of July

 

 

16 thoughts on “10 Statements – Sandra Thompson

  1. What an inspiring person! I love your personal motto, Sandra – as always, Karen, you choose the most fascinating people for your 10 Statements segment 😉

  2. Thanks Sandra for a lovely insight into your life. Your dream reference relates to my post today, and my love of dreams, but I am up and doing!

Leave a reply :-)

