Liebster Blog Award


Liebster_Blog_Award

 

On 2014-05-20, my friend Topaz Winters nominated my blog for the Liebster Blog Award.  😀

Like Topaz, I was nominated for the third time and I am really happy to receive it once again – many thanks, Topaz! Topaz is an amazing artist – be sure to check out her awesome blog.  ⭐

This award’s regulations comprise the following:

  • nominate some deserving bloggers
  • share 11 facts about myself
  • answer my nominator’s questions
  • pose questions for my nominees

 

11 facts about me

  1. We just had to switch rooms – our books and computers needed more space. Thanks to eBook readers, we will hopefully not have to switch room with the living-room any time soon.
  2. I am an occasional pescetarian – normally a vegetarian.
  3. Mountains or sea?  Sea!
  4. I detest shopping.
  5. One of my favourite songs: Dulaman by The Henry Girls – their version is the best, unfortunately, they only sing it live.
  6. I never leave home without my Galaxy Nexus, Tolino (a European eBook reader), Kindle, little black notebook.
  7. I am a fanatic reader (some of you might have already guessed).  😀
  8. My favourite buildings:  Lighthouses!
  9. I love quotes (obviously).  😉
  10. Something that amazed me:  a sculpture by Jeffro Uitto (if you read FF: Call of Duty – you may know what I’m talking about)
  11. Human rights as well as animal rights are of the utmost importance.

 

Questions from Emily (who nominated Topaz) and/or Topaz

  1. Who is your absolute favourite author?  There are many awesome authors – if I am to name just one it is:  Dean Koontz
  2. What inspired you to begin reading/writing?  I learned reading even before I went to school – no book or newspaper was safe (even if I didn’t understand everything). I must have started writing when I was about 12. Just for myself, I didn’t dare to show my texts to anyone.
  3. What kind of music do you listen to?  To name a few:  Depeche Mode, Queen, Oasis, Beatles, Rolling Stones, Metallica, Sara Bareilles, Billy Joel, The Henry Girls, Al Stewart, etc.
  4. What is your favourite dessert?  Cheesecake!
  5. Favourite colour?  Green and black.
  6. What do you do when you’re stressed?  Drink coffee. If I am home:  additionally cuddle a cat.
  7. What blogs do you follow?  All blogs I follow are amazing. As Topaz already stated, I also must have about 400 blogs I follow.
  8. Would you rather visit the future or the past?  The future! Considering the past I am truly glad to be living in the present. As I know what happened in the past I am curious about the future.
  9. Cats or dogs? I love both, we have (only) two cats, though.
  10. Any favourite quote?  James Thurber:  “Let us not look back in anger, nor forward in fear, but around in awareness.”
  11. Favourite place in the world?  Make it country, please:  Ireland.

 

Nominees & Questions

I would like to nominate four fellow bloggers and/or writers – for this award:  Chelsea over at rookienotes, Luanne over at Writer Site, Michelle over at Book Chat, and Mark over at The Brokedown Pamphlet. They are amazing bloggers and writers and definitely deserving this award! Their blogs are well worth visiting!

  1. What made you smile within the last 24 hours?
  2. Do you believe in the supernatural?
  3. You win a training (money is irrelevant). What do you want to learn?
  4. Jeans or costume/suit?
  5. If you could change one thing in your home town – what would you change?
  6. You would like to meet?
  7. What surprised you the most in 2014?
  8. Fact or fiction?
  9. Your favourite quote?
  10. If you had the choice: Travel to a different place or to a different time?
  11. What inspires you?

 

I am looking forward to your replies. If you do not accept awards, please consider this one as a token of my appreciation.  🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Karen, first of all a belated congratulations on the award. I have only just seen this page and I am embarrassed to have not responded earlier. Thank you for nominating me – it means a great deal that you have done so even though I failed to be aware of it for so long. I look forward to reading more of your work, regards Mark.

    • Thank you, Mark. I considered you and your blog very deserving for this award. As there is no expiration date – there is no harm done.
      I am a faithful reader of your blog, even if I occasionally have a lot of catching up to do. Time is currently an issue. Regards, Karen

  2. Karen, congratulations to you! You definitely deserve your nominations!!! And that is so sweet of you to nominate Writer Site! You made my day! I don’t accept awards any more, but the offer sure tickles me :). I will check out the other bloggers right away, too. It was interesting to read your answers–you and me both, cuddle a cat! And the sculpture is amazing, you are right! You also taught me a new word: pescetarian, is that right? That means you eat fish occasionally? I do occasionally/rarely eat chicken, but mainly I guess I am a pescetarian.
    xo

    • Thank you very much, Luanne! You were an obvious choice for me. I respect if you do no longer accept awards.
      Cats just help us get back our inner peace. 🙂
      The sculpture is awesome, indeed. If you visited the artist’s website you certainly saw his eagle sculptures as well.
      Being a pescetarian isn’t too bad, don’t you think?! 😉

  3. Congratulations on receiving the award for the third time! You are truly deserving. Sharing other blogs is a great way of getting to know others, so thanks for your recommendations. I love James Thurber’s quote you have shared here; and quotes you share elsewhere. Quoting is obviously something you enjoy!

    • Thank you very much, Norah! A part of that quote is my subtitle for both of my blogs (coincidentally also an Oasis title). 😉
      I adore quotes and – I love sharing them, indeed!

      • I hadn’t made that connection with the subtitles before, but I see it now! It is obviously of great significance to you.

Leave a reply :-)

