10 Statements – Ali Isaac


myauthorpic

I grew up on a Greek island with only my books, my sister, a dog and a donkey for company. I was always reading, often with three or four books on the go at once. I first read Watership Down when I was nine years old. As a child, my favourite book was Tristan and Iseult by Rosemary Sutcliffe, I loved the illustrations by Victor Ambrus, too. I then made the leap into Fantasy with the Belgarion series by David Eddings, and never looked back.

I began writing my first novel at the age of fourteen. I never finished it, but it lurks hopefully in the bottom of my desk, patiently awaiting the day when I bring it back to life.

Now, I am a wife, mother, and owner of Ireland’s most lunatic labradoodle. I am fortunate to live in beautiful rural Ireland, but must confess to the occasional Greek escape to enjoy a little Mediterranean sun and cuisine.

I was inspired to write ‘The Four Treasures of Eirean’ by my daughter, Carys. Like Conor, she cannot walk or talk, but I am convinced she can understand far more than she is able to indicate to us.

I also wanted to share with others Ireland’s many astounding ancient sites, and the characters and legends associated with them. I am currently working on ‘The Fenian King’, Book 2 in The Tir na Nog trilogy, and the final book is called ‘The Three Waves of Eirean’.

 

Links:

My website:  www.aliisaacstoryteller.com
My facebook page:  www.facebook.com/aliisaacstoryteller
My book on Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Conor-Kelly-Treasures-Eirean-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B008T8A7SK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1388960868&sr=1-1&keywords=Conor+Kelly+and+The+Four+Treasures+of+Eirean
My book on Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/320295#download

 

My personal motto:

Never let an opportunity go by.’ – See Statement 10!!!

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… getting the kids ready and out the door for school. I then walk the dog, finally sitting down at my laptop with a strong cup of coffee around 1030am. The first thing I do is review and edit what I wrote the previous day, which gets me in the right frame of mind for today’s writing session.
  2. I lose track of time… when I am writing. I get quite carried away with my stories and my characters’ lives, and before I know it my children are coming home from school, and I haven’t been shopping, been out for my run, cleaned the house, made the dinner etc., you get the picture! Then it’s a mad rush to try and catch up, except I usually have to ferry the kids between activities, so I never do catch up. Once they are in bed, I can sit down at my laptop again…
  3. I have always… wanted to travel. I did some travelling BC (before children), and have been to the Middle East, South America, Morocco and plenty of European countries. There are still so many places I’d like to see! I’d particularly like to go back to Peru, it’s the most wonderful country! I love the freedom of back-packing holidays, and in the past have slept on beaches, train station platforms, and the sides of mountains. These days, I think I’d prefer the comfort of a proper bed after a busy day’s hiking!
  4. I have never… eaten snails or frogs legs. I will try most things, but for some strange reason, just can’t bring myself to put these dainty little morsels in my mouth.
  5. Home means to me… being in Ireland. I moved around so much as a child and in my early adulthood, that I never got to put any roots down until I came to live in Ireland. I love this country, its landscape, its history, its archaeology, its mythology, its language. I never expected to, but I really connected with it, and wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.
  6. I am inspired by… nature. If I ever suffer from writer’s block, I take my dog out for a walk in the Irish countryside. It never fails to get the rusty old cogs working again, my writing issues are always resolved, and I come home feeling refreshed and fired up again.
  7. I would like to meet… some of the characters from Irish mythology whom I have written about in my books. My current book is based on the legend of Fionn mac Cumhall, who was a very enigmatic character indeed. But I would also love to meet Nuada Argetlam (who apparently had an arm of silver; was this the very first bionic arm?), and Lugh Lamfadha, too.
  8. My worst character trait… is that I am sooooo forgetful! I can walk into a room, and forget what I went in there for. I always come back from shopping without a key item that I went for. It drives me crazy, so I dread to think how irritating it is for everyone else. Actually, I have another one too; I’m not a morning person, and my family have learned not to talk to me until I’ve had my first cup of coffee of the day, or they might just get their head bitten off!
  9. My best character trait… I don’t think I have any, lol! I am a very loyal person, and I think I’m a kind person… at least, I hope I am.
  10. The best advice I was given… ‘never let an opportunity go by’. I have only ever done so once, and I regretted it for a long time. Better to regret the things you have done than the things you haven’t, so they say, and I tend to agree with that. It gives you a positive outlook on life, and you just never know quite where it might lead you… which is rather exciting!

 

4TE-V3FrontTFK-med

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++

 

Dear friends and readers: 

I am very honoured to present Ali’s 10 statements today. Until I met her (online), I thought I knew about Irish history. Ali digs deeper and comes up with most interesting information about Ireland and its history. This is awesome!

I just started reading Conor Kelly And The Four Treasures of Eirean – you can expect my review in a little while. As I indicated in my blog tour post, Ali Isaac will continue the ‘Writing Process’ blog tour on the upcoming weekend!  🙂

 

10 thoughts on “10 Statements – Ali Isaac

    • Thank you Topaz! I started out with a completely different one for book 1, but it didn’t show up very well as a thumbnail. Looks great as a poster, though! I used a segment of it as the header for my blog.

      • It does indeed! Wonderful choice – I’m glad you decided to go with the one that looked good even as a thumbnail. 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

