The Author by T. J. Blake


The_Author

Story Cartel sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  3  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Four years after his wife and children disappeared, Ryan Milligan decides it’s time to let go of the past and move to a new home on Mulberry Lane. Ryan hoped his new house and peaceful neighbourhood would help him to cope better with the pain of losing his family and to continue his search. Whilst settling in and writing his new novel, ‘Killing For Your Love’, he realises things are not what they seem…

“My new house is only a mile away from the home I used to live in with Tan and the kids, but now I feel like I’m in a different world. I can’t help but feel like I’ve been here before and done this before. There’s a presence here, I can feel it. There are things happening in this house that aren’t normal. I’m threatened by the lack of control I have over them.
There’s one room where I feel it most, and as I stare at the door leading down into the basement, it begins to creak open.”

 

My Opinion

The book introduces you to its protagonist, Ryan Milligan, an author whose wife and children disappeared four years previously. He moves to a new house, soon feeling that something is not right. There are weird neighbours, strange dreams, women are murdered in the neighbourhood. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With The Author, T. J. Blake has created a horror story that requires your concentration. The story provides you with the present, excerpts from the author’s ‘Killing For Your Love’, and Ryan’s dreams and/or nightmares – not necessarily in that order. It is easy to distinguish the book excerpts, harder to separate nightmare from reality. I couldn’t help considering if Ryan had lost his marbles. The Author is not an easy read, comprises interesting turns, the brutality towards the end is a little exaggerated. T. J. Blake seems to be an author with real potential.

3.4 stars

 

About the author

T. J. Blake was born in England, Guildford in 1993. He currently lives in Surrey and studies at Kingston University. T. J. Blake has had a passion for writing stories from a young age, and he has always dreamt of being able to release his material for people to read and enjoy.

 

Connect with the Author:

+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ ++++++ +++ +++ +++ +++

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Author?  Or – if you did not yet read The Author – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If The Author was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

12 thoughts on “The Author by T. J. Blake

  1. Karen,
    Thank you for the great review! This has made my day 🙂
    And thank you everyone else for your interest in The Author, I hope all that have had a chance to read it have enjoyed it also.

  2. A lovely review as always, Karen. 🙂 The synopsis seems very unique – although I’ve read quite a few horror stories, this specific plotline hasn’t surfaced yet! I might have to give it a try. 😀

    • Thank you, Topaz. 🙂
      Even as an experienced fiction/horror reader you might wonder if you are on the right track. Most important: if you start reading – finish it. I once was as a point where others might have given up – I didn’t. It was worth reading on – as you get to know the how and why stuff…

      • Oh, those are my favourite kinds of books – the kind where all the pieces fall together at the end and you realise the answer to all the puzzles!

  3. A great review Karen, one that has certainly tempted me to put this one on the TBR. It sounds like a complicated read which isn’t always a bad thing as long especially if the reader is forewarned.

    • Thank you very much, Cleo.
      It was even more complicated as I had a roughly formatted version. As you are forewarned, reading will be easier. I consider this book’s being complicated as rather useful.

    • Thank you, Jack. The ending is not brutal; it is a scene close to the end that is a little exaggerated. The story is fascinating. If you decide to read it, you need to finish it. After my review, I read some other reviews. Those who did not finish reading rated it only 2 stars. Those who finished reading rated it 3 or 4 stars.

Leave a reply :-)

