3 Quotes – Confidence


Every writer knows that unless you were born gifted with either supreme confidence or outsized ego, handing in your work holds, in some cases, admitted terror. If that’s too strong, at least fairly high anxiety.

Dick Cavett, American entertainer

born:  November 19, 1936
died:  –

I was always looking outside myself for strength and confidence but it comes from within. It is there all the time.

Anna Freud, Austrian psychologist
born:  December 3, 1895
died:  October 9, 1982

With a novelist, like a surgeon, you have to get a feeling that you have fallen into good hands – someone from whom you can accept the anesthetic with confidence.

Saul Bellow, American novelist
born:  June 10, 1914
died:  April 5, 2005

 

3Quotes

 

Which are your favourite ‘confidence’ quotes?  🙂

 

16 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Confidence

  1. Before we had computers on newspapers, we had to put our copy into baskets, and then wait for the news editor to pick it up and start reading. Waiting for him to get to your stuff, was probably the most nerve-wracking time ever, especially if he was in a bad mood….

  2. Great quotes. I still don’t feel completely confident about my writing, but since I’ve been blogging everyday, it’s bolstered my ego, not to mention my creativity.

    • Thank you. Blogging helps a lot. A little ‘stage fright’ is quite common. Especially my short stories let me sweat before hitting the publish button. Then I realised that if I liked my story, there would always be at least one reader who also likes it.

  3. Watching somebody read your work is akin to the big scene for the horror movie. Hands in front of your eyes, but you just have to steal a look between your fingers. Are they going to kill you?

    • Imagining someone reading my story made me sweat. 😉
      Then I realised: If I like what I write – there will be at least someone else who always likes it. This helped a lot.

      • I don’t write fiction. But it was the same thing for every newspaper story and every web site story and every blog post. A tinge of anxiety, thank you, Dick Cavett. You are right, however, in the knowledge that someone always will like your work.

Leave a reply :-)

