3 Quotes – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry


Antoine_de_Saint-Exupery

 

 

 

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, French novelist

born:  June 29, 1900
died:  July 31, 1944

It is only with the heart that someone can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The meaning of things lies not in the things themselves, but in our attitude towards them.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
True happiness comes from the joy of deeds well done, the zest of creating things new.

 

 

Which are your favourite quotes by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry?  🙂

As today is Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s birthday – some quotes by him were the obvious choice…

 

26 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

  1. Thank you for sharing the wisdom of these thoughts. He passed away so young. How much more may we have benefited from a longer life? I love that objects themselves have no meaning; it is only our attitude that gives them meaning. It makes me thing of a discussion I have been having about nature – does nature in and of itself have value, or is its value only relevant to its importance to humans? How we respond to that question may influence our interpretation of Saint-Exupery’s quote!

    • You are welcome, Norah.
      We would presumably have benefited a great deal. After they shot him down, he had opportunity to think and to comprehend the meaning of life. Life was never the same after that. He would have fought for humanity and comprehension – by writing – not by warring.
      Nature has its value in itself. Every living thing has its purpose and deserves respect.

      • I think you are right about the benefits we may have enjoyed. There is an old saying that the pen is mightier than the sword; though I think the ‘sword’ is killing more people these days.
        I agree with you about nature. It certainly sounds like the right thing to think. However I have been having discussions with environmentalists who believe that the environment will only be ‘saved’ if it is viewed in its relationship with and purpose to humanity. The intrinsic value of nature is apparently not very motivating.

  2. “The meaning of things lies not in the things themselves, but in our attitude towards them.” This one touched me. I just finished Julia’s Chocolates by Cathy Lamb (yes, review coming!) and it touches on this very thought – things are not as important as our attitude towards not only items, but our attitude towards other people and ourselves.

    • This is an inspiring quote. Often we fail to see this aspect.
      I am looking forward to reading your review, Leiah. Especially regarding this quote.

  3. Last summer I reread his books the first time since I was a young teenager. They still make my heart ache. I see very well why the world has almost forgotten him. Hope he is well somewhere in far away Universe.

    • The Little Prince has ‘his’ location in one of my bookshelves (in several languages). Even if it seems that many have forgotten Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, his quotes are frequently used. Linguists at university are told to read The Little Prince in as many languages as possible – to refine their grammar.
      RIP, Antoine.

  4. Well I’m afraid I’m showing my ignorance here because I have to be honest and ‘fess up that I don’t know who he is, but I really liked all three quotes, they all made sense to me.

    • You might have heard of ‘The Little Prince’, Ali. It is one of the best translated books ever written. It is novella length, first published in 1943/4; ‘a classic tale of equal appeal to children and adults.’ You’ll love his drawings, too.

Leave a reply :-)

