Family is Murder (McKinley Mysteries #5) by Carolyn Arnold


Family_is_Murder

The author sent me an advanced reading copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

The search for a maid results in a mess.

When a woman shows up and claims to be Sara’s birth mother, it pits Sara and Sean against each other. Sara opens her heart and wants to believe the woman, but Sean is suspicious of her true identity and motive. After all, there are billions at stake. But when the woman goes missing and a dead body turns up, they both start to question the truth.

Led by Sara’s intuition, they pursue all possible leads and soon realize they may have welcomed a killer into their home.

5th in the McKinley Mysteries
Approximately. 29,000 words

 

Teaser


The woman siphoned her bottom lip through her teeth and shook her head. “I’m not who you think I am. You’re here to meet someone to interview I take it. I just played along to get close to you. See, I need to talk to you.”

The current swirling in the woman’s eyes was electric – Sara couldn’t effectively read her.


 

 

My Opinion

The fifth book of the McKinley Mysteries series starts harmless for its protagonists, Sara and Sean McKinley. They are in a coffee shop, waiting to interview a possible live-in maid. Something in the woman seems off, and indeed she claims Sara’s birth mother. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Family is Murder, Carolyn Arnold has created the fifth instalment of the McKinley Mysteries series. I did only read the fourth instalment before – I am going to read instalments 1-3, soon. It is not necessary to have read the previous instalments before; you get to know Sara and Sean quickly. You certainly want to read them, though. Family is Murder offers food for thought with a thrill, being an entertaining and fast read, making you want to read more.

This is a book to read again.

 

About the author

Carolyn Arnold’s love for writing dates back to her teen years, but her passion was reignited in 2006 when a fellow employee said “tell me a story.” Since then Carolyn has never looked back.

TIES THAT BIND, the first in her Madison Knight Series, was published in 2011 and it became a Kindle Best Seller, reaching the top 100 in Police Procedurals in the US and in the UK. Her writing has been compared to New York Times Bestsellers such as JD Robb, Mary Higgins Clark, Sue Grafton, Michael Connelly, Tess Gerritsen, and more.

Carolyn was born in 1976 in a rural town of Ontario, Canada. She is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and lives with her husband, and two beagles in a city near Toronto.

 

Connect with the Author:

+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ ++++++ +++ +++ +++ +++

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Family is Murder?  Or – if you did not yet read Family is Murder – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Family is Murder was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Family is Murder (McKinley Mysteries #5) by Carolyn Arnold

  1. I love the comprehensive style of your reviews. This is an author I’ve never come across before and, based on the recommendation, I’ll be adding it to my list 🙂

    • Thank you very much. 🙂
      This was the second book in the McKinley Mysteries series for me – and I liked it like #4.
      The other series is different and recommendable as well.
      Happy reading! 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

