3 Quotes – Guillermo del Toro


Guillermo_del_Toro

 

 

Guillermo del Toro,
Mexican director and writer

born:  October 9, 1964
died:  –

 


I like actors that are good with pantomime and that can transmit a lot by their presence and attitude more than through their dialogue.

 


I see horror as part of legitimate film. I don’t see it as an independent genre that has nothing to do with the rest of cinema.

 


There are two levels of vampirism: one is the regular vampire, which is just like it has always been; and then there’s the super vampires, which are a new breed we’ve created.

 


 

 

Which are your favourite quotes by Guillermo del Toro?  🙂

Did you know that he is also a writer?


 

18 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Guillermo del Toro

  1. Funny – am watching the first two episodes of “The Strain” tonight. I read the first book and really enjoyed it. Then moved away from horror for a while and never went back to it. Will have to pick up the other two when I find myself in the mood. So far, it is pretty apt to the storyline, and the actors are good.

  2. Basically, my three favourite things in the universe: acting, horror, and vampires. I’m liking this guy. 😉 I have indeed missed your 3 Quotes series, Karen!

    • According to your three favourites in the universe – you have to be a Guillermo del Toro fan. 😀
      I am glad you’re back, Topaz!

  3. I’ve really enjoyed several of his movies, and I LOVED The Strain Trilogy he created with Chuck Hogan. I wasn’t crazy about the TV show based on the trilogy, though. :/

    • Great! He produced lots of good stuff. What did you think of The Devil’s Backbone and The Orphanage?
      I love the Strain trilogy, didn’t know about the TV show, though.

      • I haven’t seen The Devil’s Backbone, but I really enjoyed Pan’s Labyrinth and The Orphanage. The television series premiered Sunday before last on FX.

      • Pan’s Labyrinth is also one of my favourites.
        We cannot watch FX here. I’ll set an alert on my receiver, though.

      • I think the show is trying to stay true to the books, but, as usual, I prefer the novel to the movie/television show.

      • the regular vampire; in the third quote. It’s just the way you say the sentence, really; makes it seem as though vampires are perfectly normal. I know what he means. Just being picky

      • All right. It is about the classic vs the new breed of vampires. Modern vampires are more romanticised, indeed. Count Dracula followed his instinct to feed, he didn’t fall in love. His victims abhorred him and were drawn to him at the same time.
        Nowadays, they all become friends and fall in love. Some newer stories are quite nice if you are in the mood.

Leave a reply :-)

