Swarm (Outbreak Escape, #1) by Alex South


Swarm

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

John has a dead-end job, doesn’t see enough of his friends, and struggles to find meaning in his life. These everyday concerns vanish on the night he’s jerked awake by screams.

Frenzied figures roam the streets. A helpless onlooker, John tells himself that this isn’t like the films. This is real life, with real people.

He and his neighbours band together over a small supply of food. Tensions brew, and a difficult choice arises. Risk starvation, or attempt escape? Conflicted over the cause and scope of the apocalypse, the group struggles to work together.

At first John clings to logic. The zombies do not drink or eat. Organic matter cannot sustain itself under these conditions, but things grow more complicated as the behaviour of the infected makes a drastic and inexplicable change.

 

Genre:  Horror

 

Teaser


Screams woke John up. He lay for a few seconds, confused. Was the noise from the real world or his dreams? There it was again. His brain shook off the daze and pushed him out of bed. The curtains loomed ahead, making a kind of dull, dirty rectangle for him to move towards. He pulled them aside.

On the black asphalt, two figures wrestled in streetlight-tinted rain. For a few moments, he was transfixed. Now he moved back to his bedside table, patting the darkness with his hands. The close walls and trapped furniture appeared in watery light as his fingers made contact with his phone screen. Quickly, he tapped 999.


 

My Opinion

Swarm introduces you to John on the fifth page. It makes sense several pages further into the book, as you need to know how John is confronted with the changes in his environment.  The characters are believable and really fit into the plot. Their lives are turned upside down; they have to consider survival strategies and cooperate in an environment where the number of zombies continually grows. I was drawn into the story without realising it at first. No. I won’t tell you more. This would spoil the fun of your reading it yourself.

Swarm is not a zombie novella like any other. Alex South’ approach is not new, yet cleverly handled. Even as the reader, I asked myself the same questions about survival; I was part of the story…

Swarm luckily is a fast read – as you may not be inclined to put it down. A good read for all those who enjoy a zombie thriller in novella length.

I want to know what happens next, therefore I am looking forward to reading Swarm II.

 

About the author

I’ve been writing fiction since the age of 16, but nowadays, with all these fancy Kindle, e-reader things, and something called ‘print on demand’ I’m able to make physical and digital books, and put them up on sites like Amazon (.com/.co.uk + others).

Also, I blog about life, love, will power, procrastination, trying to be a better person and things that make me laugh.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Swarm?  Or – if you did not yet read Swarm  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Swarm was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Swarm (Outbreak Escape, #1) by Alex South

  1. I love how your reviews cover so many different genres. Since you enjoyed this one, I have to recommend a novel by Alden Bell called The Reapers are the Angels. The main character, Temple, is unforgettable, and the book has a distinctly Southern Gothic feel to it, so of course I loved it.

    • There are many great genres, and even more awesome writers. It happens that I read out of my usual genre as the respective writer knows how to handle a story to get me coming back to his work.
      I just added your book recommendation to my TBR list, Miranda. Thank you very much!

Leave a reply :-)

