Trick or Treat by Sandrine Spycher


Trick_or_Treat

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Very short story written for Halloween.

An evil dummy frightens the kids during the night of Halloween.

Genre:  Horror

Length:  Approximately 6 pages

 

 

Teaser


It was the night of Halloween in the town of Slippery Rock. The twins Amber and Michael were completing their costumes before going out in the streets, like all the other kids.


 

My Opinion

This short story tells you what happens to Amber and Michael in the night of Halloween. I was mighty glad it wasn’t Halloween when reading this story. And I loved it. I cannot tell you more about the story as it is really short and it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With Trick or Treat, Sandrine Spycher presents us with another short gem. The story is cleverly elaborated, I felt close to what was happening; Sandrine Spycher knows how to create goosebumps. I had a great time reading Trick or Treat. Thank you, Sandrine! I remembered your advice from Not to Be Read at Night and read your story by day and – not even close to Halloween. I am looking forward to reading more – please keep your stories coming!  🙂

This is a story to read again.

 

About the author

Sandrine Spycher was born and grew up in Switzerland. Getting inspiration from everyday life as well as in the literary material she studies at university, she writes fantasy and gothic novels and short stories. She writes in French and in English, translating her own novels herself.

Connect with the Author:

Website:  http://www.spycherbooks.com/

Buy Link:

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Trick or Treat?  Or – if you did not yet read Trick or Treat – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Trick or Treat was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Trick or Treat by Sandrine Spycher

  1. I like your plot summary. When I first read it, I thought, “Does she mean an actual evil dummy, or is she simply describing some cantankerous Halloween-hating character as an evil dummy?” 😀

    • Thank you, Miranda. Plot summaries for 6-page-stories are tricky. I try to avoid spoilers; therefore, I rather tell you what I felt instead of getting deeper into the plot. 🙂

    • Great! I liked all her stories so far. I haven’t read her French novella yet – simply due to lack of time.
      Why shouldn’t AU be okay?

      • The post got into my opinion about how it suits voracious readers. I also said they need to make it available around the world because people like you might benefit.

Leave a reply :-)

