The Guardian by Matthew Iden


The_Guardian

 

Available to all subscribers of Matthew Iden’s newsletter.

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Marty Singer was a DC Homicide detective. He is retired, minds his own business – except on Wednesday evenings in a battle against Barkley. A fight he cannot win.

 

Genre:  Mystery

Length:  Short story

 

 

Teaser


No, that wasn’t the problem. My problem had a name. A name that could put me in the blackest of moods, a name that could make me use strong language, even.

Barkley.


 

My Opinion

This short story is based on Matthew Iden’s Marty Singer series. It is about a retired DC Homicide detective and his fight with Barkley, this time leading to solving a crime. I cannot tell you more about the story as it is really short and it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With The Guardian, Matthew Iden presents us with a suspenseful and very entertaining short story. The story is cleverly elaborated, concentrates on only few characters. I had a real good time reading The Guardian. I truly liked Marty Singer and Barkley, the mentioned encounters are sometimes hilarious. The Guardian is a fast-paced and very enjoyable read. I am looking forward to reading A Reason to Live (Marty Singer Mystery #1) which is already on my e-reader!

A short story to read again.

 

About the author

Matthew Iden writes fantasy, science fiction, horror, thrillers, crime fiction, and contemporary literary fiction with a psychological twist.
An eclectic resume–he’s held jobs with the US Postal Service, international non-profit groups, a short stint with the Forest Service in Sitka, Alaska and time with the globe-spanning Semester at Sea program–has given him inspiration for short stories and novel ideas, while trips to Iceland, Patagonia, and Antarctica haven’t hurt in the creative juices department, either. A post-graduate education in English Literature wasn’t necessary, but it helped define what he didn’t want to do with his life and let him read a great deal of good books.

Connect with the Author:

Website:  http://matthew-iden.com/
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/CrimeRighter

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/matthew.iden

Amazon:  Matthew Iden

Buy Link (for Matthew Iden’s books in general):

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Guardian?  Or – if you did not yet read The Guardian – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If The Guardian was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

8 thoughts on “The Guardian by Matthew Iden

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds (September 5) | Cleopatra Loves Books

    • In fact it is a nice combination of fast-paced (no guns or chain-saws!) and a certain calmness in Marty’s mind. Among the thousands of mysteries I’ve read and re-read, this is a bit different, not prone to be forgotten in my Kindle’s darkest corner…

Leave a reply :-)

