22 Short Scifi Stories: a flash fiction collection by Angela Cavanaugh


22_Short_SciFi_Stories

 

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

This is a collection of twenty two scifi stories, most around 1000 words long. Enjoy tales of time travel, dystopian futures, apocalypse, aliens, genetic engineering, and much more…

 

Genre:  Flash fiction; Science fiction

 

Teaser


Zach sipped his coffee as he shuffled along down the corridor, squinting against the rising artificial sun. The transition from night to morning was merely a courtesy on the ship. Zach assumed it was to keep all aboard from having psychotic breaks. Though he had never seen a real sunrise with his own eyes, he could remember it well, and knew that it occurred less abruptly. He could vaguely recall the swatches of pinks and purples that colored the early mornings, ending with glorious oranges and blues.


 

My Opinion

This book comprises a broad variety of flash fiction stories. These stories entertain you, make you wonder, nod, shake your head, and/or even touch you. I will not tell you more about the stories than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With 22 Short Scifi Stories, Angela Cavanaugh has created a varied collection of 22 flash fiction stories. 22 Short Scifi Stories is an entertaining collection, its stories are fast reads, not only enjoyable for flash fiction and/or scifi fans. If you like unusual stories and sometimes surprising (and still very suitable) endings, and/or like The Twilight Zone – this collection is also for you. Some stories took me by surprise, some stories touched me, some stories made me gawk.

 

About the author

At the age of 27, Angela moved to Los Angeles. Originally from St. Louis, she had spent several years in Austin; so much time focused on – and under the control of – someone else. She had lost herself completely. California changed all of that. She made new friends, and found an amazing man who supported all her dreams and helped her become a self-actualized person.

Two years later, and she finally knew what happiness was. It fulled her every day, allowing her to create stories and worlds, and put herself out there.

 

Connect with the Author:

Amazon (US):  buy link

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about 22 Short Scifi Stories?  Or – if you did not yet read 22 Short Scifi Stories  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If any of the 22 Short Scifi Stories were filmed – who should direct them, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

10 thoughts on “22 Short Scifi Stories: a flash fiction collection by Angela Cavanaugh

  1. Pingback: Otherworlders by Angela Cavanaugh | My train of thoughts on...

  2. Karen, I’ve just read the first three stories and I must say you’re right as usual – they’re highly imaginative but not too “in-depth scifi”, as you put it 😉 I’m looking forward to discovering more, but I just wanted to say thank you for introducing me to Angela’s work!

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, Topaz. I am glad that you also like Angela’s stories. 🙂
      I really enjoyed the variety. Angela Cavanaugh is a writer to watch out for.

Leave a reply :-)

