Torn (Fire Born, #2) by Laney McMann


Torn

 

DISCLAIMER:  I won a review-by-release copy of Torn by Laney McMann; provided by publisher J. Taylor of J. Taylor Publishing.

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Find Max.

That’s all Layla cares about. Not healing from the Fomore attack. Not finding answers to how she survived a fall that nearly killed her. Nothing will stop her. She will find him. She’ll even pair up with an overbearing Fallen Angel who’s hell bent on making everything harder than it needs to be if she has to.

Protect Layla.

For Max, nothing else matters. Not the bruises covering his body. Not the pain radiating from his broken bones. Not even his hands tied behind his back. He will find a way to save Layla, and the Fomore will pay if they’ve hurt her.

Every. Single. One of them.

In the second instalment of The Fire Born trilogy, a new breed of villain looms—one Layla and Max will never suspect, and this killer has nothing to lose. Better yet, with Max and Layla’s deaths, victory is in the grip of the enemy.

Will Max and Layla find each other in time, or is it already too late for them both?

 

Genre:  YA, dark urban fantasy, paranormal romance

 

Teaser


“I don’t care about a plan.” My words were faint. The pressure of some foreign weight pushed down on my shoulders. “I have to find him … help him. I can’t stay here.”

“You must – you are not well.”


 

My Opinion

This book continues the story of the Fire Born, Teine and MacKenzie and/or Layla and Max as they call themselves. We find Layla on the beach, weakened by a Fomore attack. Max, the love of her life is gone. Despite the others’ advice she starts the quest to get Max back. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Torn, Laney McMann has created an intriguing successor of Tied, the first book in the Fire Born series. The different plot lines are easily distinguishable. There are enough hints to our protagonists’ past that you do not necessarily have to know Tied. The characters are believable with all their flaws, their description leaves enough room for your own imagination – a very nice touch. It was hard to stop reading – I always wanted to know what occurred next. I automatically asked myself who to trust. There is a cliffhanger of the less annoying kind. I am curious about the protagonists’ future – instalment #3 is already on my TBR list.

 

About the author

I write young adult dark urban fantasy mixed with a spike of paranormal romance, a touch of history, and a dash of mythology. I’m a dreamer, an over thinker, and a myths and legends believer. Nothing moves me more than writing fantastical stories. And reading them.

I’m also the author of The Fire Born Novels. TIED is the 1st book in the series (J. Taylor Publishing), released September 2013.

TORN, book #2, releases September 8th 2014.

Book #3 will release in 2015.

 

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Torn?  Or – if you did not yet read Torn  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Torn was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Torn (Fire Born, #2) by Laney McMann

    • The 1st book is also on my TBR list. I really want to read it as well. Torn provides enough information to understand the past. I cannot confirm this for all series…

Leave a reply :-)

