Transfixion by J. Giambrone


Transfixion

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (pdf format) in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

It’s nothing short of the end of the world.

Someone has weaponized the broadcast spectrum – gazing upon the transmission is enough to steal your mind.

Kaylee Colton faces a technological Armageddon when suburbia shatters into civil war. All alone, and unable to speak, Kaylee will need to fight to survive and transcend her own fears if she is to stand against these enigmatic forces of destruction.

Transfixion is an action-laced rush that will burrow straight into your brain…”

 

Genre:  YA Sci-Fi Action Thriller

Length:  289 pages

 

Teaser


Like a spy, she observed the street passers-by from above. The neighborhood below seemed peaceful, but every once in a while a figure jogged past from left to right or right to left. Kaylee put her mind to work, and she tried to discern whose side they might be on, but she was clueless as to where they were going.


 

My Opinion

This story introduces you to Kaylee Colton. Her world turns upside one morning when her brother Sean goes berserk. And what is that strange noise? She does not have the time to find out as Sean is coming after her. She flees, hoping that this nightmare is over, soon. I cannot tell you more about the story as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With Transfixion, J. Giambrone presents us with a fast-paced YA thriller. The story is cleverly elaborated, focuses on Kaylee and her personal growth. I was drawn in, felt like a member of her comrades. I could easily envision the characters. I had a real good time reading Transfixion. Even if you do not learn the complete ‘why’ – it does not really matter, as the book is primarily about Kaylee.

This is a book to read again.

 

About the author

Novelist and screenwriter J. Giambrone has taken on the Sisyphean task of confronting the dominant American culture where it lives through storytelling, satire and the airing of uncomfortable truths. In an age of perpetual warfare, he has chosen an uncompromising endorsement of peace through understanding and justice.

With Transfixion the goal is to challenge readers of all ages to confront their own concepts of conflict, of resolution, and of the myriad tenuous threads that connect all of us.

He also has a kid, a wife, a cat and two guitars.

Connect with the Author:

Email:  jgiambrone@live.com
Website:  http://jgiambrone.wordpress.com/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/TransfixionBook
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/TransfixionBook
Readwave:  http://www.readwave.com/j.giambrone/

Buy Link:

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Transfixion?  Or – if you did not yet read Transfixion – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Transfixion was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

14 thoughts on “Transfixion by J. Giambrone

  1. To be honest the plot reminds me of Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse TV series, but that’s okay because I thought it was awesome and we could use more post-apocalyptic mind-stealing stories. Count me in – I’ll be checking transfixion out!

    • Post-apocalyptic plots automatically have similarities. As I do not know this TV series, I cannot tell. It is difficult to offer more details as this often leads to spoilers.
      I enjoyed Transfixion and watching Kaylee grow with each difficult situation.

  2. This sounds more like an adult thriller in terms of plot, rather than a kid’s thriller. I can imagine the characters to be young though. I am interested to know why he goes berserk, so I guess it draws you in from the beginning.

    • You are welcome, Miranda. It is a very interesting story, told from a girl’s point of view. I could understand her feelings. Kaylee rocks.

  3. I’m a little behind – this is on my TBR list, but I think I bit off more than I can chew. I’m excited about it though, especially having read your review 🙂

    • Aren’t we all behind. 😉
      My TBR list is huge, review deadlines are approaching fast…
      It is an enjoyable read. You’ll like it, Mel. 🙂

      • Great…I’ll look forward to it 🙂 There’s only one before it now. I know what you mean about the ever increasing lists! It’s lucky we enjoy it so much 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

