10 Statements – S. J. Henderson


sunnyheadshot

 

Hello, there!  My name is S. J.!  I live with my husband and four boys on a farm in The Middle of Nowhere, Michigan.  Our family belongs to all kinds of four-legged animals, including dogs, horses, and one silly cat.  My favorite time of year is pumpkin spice latte season, and I totally believe that movie theater popcorn is a major food group. My most favorite thing to do besides reading and writing is riding my horses. My dream job used to be “horse trainer”, but I’m a much better writer than horse trainer, so there you have it. trin heart
I’ve been writing stories nearly as long as I’ve known how to hold a pencil, and sharing them with anyone who would read them. When I was younger, there weren’t a ton of options for authors, other than publishing houses and physical books. I was a good writer, but was I that good?  It wasn’t until I learned about self-publishing and digital books that publication and professional writing became more than a dream.  My first book, DANIEL THE DRAW-ER, was published in March 2014 on Amazon.  Dreams do come true!
My favorite books usually come in sets: Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Twilight.  People pick on me sometimes for liking certain books and not liking others, but I believe everyone should read what makes their imagination come to life. If you haven’t found that book, keep reading! It’s out there somewhere!

Links:

 

My personal motto:

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you’ll never get anything done.”

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… coffee creamer and a teensy bit of coffee while I catch up on my soaps (a.k.a. Facebook). I also work as a birth doula, which is a support person for families when they prepare for the birth of a child. When I’m working as a doula, there is no typical work day. Usually I am driving to the hospital in a snowstorm at 3 a.m. while rethinking my career path.
  2. I lose track of time… when I am drinking coffee/creamer and catching up on Facebook. Also when I tell my husband I’m going anywhere and I’ll be back in “a few minutes”. That may be my most common lie. Sorry, husband.
  3. I have always… loved horses. When I’m not reading or writing, I’m probably riding a horse or hanging out in the barn.
  4. I have never… read anything by J. R. R. Tolkien. I haven’t even watched the movies. No, I can’t believe it, either.
  5. Home means to me… a comfy chair, a cup of coffee, and my laptop or a book with the chirp of crickets and the whinny of a horse as my soundtrack. That’s best-case scenario. Really, it’s more like my three younger boys wailing on each other, Wrestlemania-style, and the older one hooting and hollering at his friends while playing online games. My blood pressure runs perpetually kind of high–wonder why!
  6. I am inspired by… all kinds of things. A good book (the more haunting or magical a setting, the better), a touching movie, a funny conversation, or random person shuffling down the street.
  7. I would like to meet… J. K. Rowling, because she’s the bee’s knees. And then I’ll throw in Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Jennifer Lawrence, and Emma Stone.  My list is kind of shallow, I realize, but that’s how I roll.
  8. My worst character trait… is impatience. When God was handing out virtues, I totally skipped that line because it was waaaaay too long.
  9. My best character trait… is loyalty. If I was your friend in second grade, odds are, I’ll still be your friend when I’m fifty.
  10. The best advice I was given… was “write what you know.” At first, I laughed about that because I don’t know much, and my life feels very boring. Now I’m beginning to understand.

Daniel_the_Draw-er

 

BUY LINKS:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Daniel-Draw-er-S-J-Henderson-ebook/dp/B00JAXJF86/

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/daniel-the-draw-er-s-j-henderson/1119074806?ean=9781497396999

S. J. Henderson’s Store (autographed paperbacks):  http://www.sjhenderson.net/store/

 


Related Post – Review:  Daniel the Draw-er

17 thoughts on “10 Statements – S. J. Henderson

  1. I enjoyed getting to know more about you! How you take your coffee, etc. along with your very excellent ‘credo’ (your personal motto is so true!)

  2. Oh my gosh, Jen, HOW have you not read LOTR. (Totally judging you over here.) If you are intending to read it, though (hint: YES, YOU ARE.) I agree with Trent – the books are indeed very different from the films, but certainly worth watching. Peter Jackson is awesome. 😀

  3. Trent–

    See how time does that when you are enjoying the Interwebs with a cup of joe? Welcome to the club.

    And, yes, that was a helpful answer. I’ve been fighting it for years, but Tolkien is on my reading bucket list.

  4. To S. J. re J. R. R. Tolkien – Read the books, skip the movies. The movies are good in their own way, but are a totally different genre (in my opinion) than the books.

      • Hi S. J. As far as the books go, although LOTR is much better than The Hobbit and The Hobbit reads more like a children’s book, reading The Hobbit helps with LOTR. As far as the movies go, I haven’t watched The Hobbit yet.

        What I mean by “different genre” is the movies are more action/adventure, particularly after the first movie, while LOTR defined fantasy. J. R. R. Tolkien created a rich backstory that brings life to the very complex world he created. There are “action sequences”, but they are there to add spice and increase tension while in the movies they seemed to be the focus.

        I’m sitting here, sipping on coffee, catching up on Facebook and WordPress and have let time slip away from me. I guess i got carried away with my answer to your question. Hope it helped.

Leave a reply :-)

