Diary of an Airedale (#1) by P. J. Erickson


Diary_of_an_Airedale_1

Story Cartel sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

It’s a dog’s life, or is it?
Alf Airedale is just eight weeks old when he is torn from the only home he has ever known. Follow as Alf pulls us into his world, recounting in his diary, the exciting and sometimes terrifying world of a young puppy on his journey to dogdom. Happy with his new pack, Alf’s antics will have you laughing, as with a chuckle and a shake of your head, you are compelled to read on.

Watch Alf mature from a cute fur ball to a handsome dog, and along the way, learn about love and kindness, pain and terror, joy and despair, meeting each new adventure with courage and determination.

Each creature inhabits a world different and separate from ours, but as Alf faces each day we see through his eyes that perhaps we are not so different after all, so talk to your dog and believe. You will see him in a different light. After all anything is possible.

In her new release, a captivating story of a young dog, P.J. Erickson pulls us, young and old alike, into another reality where we find ourselves reluctant to leave.

 

Genre:  Fiction, dogs

 

Teaser


A journal? Airedales don’t write journals. Well, of course they don’t. I dictated it. Voice to text software has come a long way. Now it can translate any language, taking us into uncharted areas, like my mind. See, all things are possible. So read on, I have lots to say. Hmm, where to start? Well, the beginning might be a good place.


 

My Opinion

The book introduces you to its protagonist Alf, a charming Airedale puppy. He describes his first year. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Diary of an Airedale, P. J. Erickson has created a good insight in a puppy’s world. Diary of an Airedale is a very entertaining work of fiction, comprises facts about a dog’s perception of things. I had a good time reading, Alf and his pack – Anna and Harry – are very well described; it is easy to imagine them and their respective reaction to the events. Diary of an Airedale is a book not only for dog lovers. If you like and respect animals, if you want to experience the world according to a puppy, or if you just want an entertaining read – this is a book for you. I am looking forward to the upcoming volumes.

This is a book to read again.

 

About the author

P.J. Erickson is owned by her third Airedale, two-year-old Jake. In between adventures with him and transcribing Alf’s dictation for his diary, she enjoys life in the Sunshine State. She loves chocolate, hates housework and sailing and is driven to write. She is a member of the National Writers Association.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Diary of an Airedale?  Or – if you did not yet read Diary of an Airedale – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Diary of an Airedale was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Diary of an Airedale (#1) by P. J. Erickson

  1. If, like me, you have just adopted a puppy, you will find this book both amusing and informative. A puppy’s viewpoint in his first year of life that will surely create a stronger understanding of your puppy’s fears, joys and what it feels like to live with a human. Not just for Airedales nor puppy lovers but for anyone who enjoys being uplifted.

    • It is a great book for pet owners. We share our home with cats and – I’d often like to know how they feel about their two-legged ‘roomies’, i.e. should we change some things or not…
      It is also a great read for being uplifted. I can confirm that. 🙂

  2. “P.J. Erickson is owned by her Airedale…”

    I can sympathise! I know I’m certainly owned by Hachii, not the other way around 😉 I love the idea of this book… I’ve always been a bit of a sucker for stories narrated by animals, and this reminds me of one of my favourite childhood stories, “One Dog and His Boy”. Definitely going to pick it up!

    • You’ll love that book, Topaz! As Hachii owns you, you will be thrilled by Alf’s points of view. The author may well be called an experienced dog cohabitant – awesome.
      We are owned by our cats by the way, that’s also quite acceptable.

      • Animals have always owned humans – it’s just that we’ve always been too delusional to realise it until now. 😉 I can’t wait to read it!

    • Your human might really love that book and – still be glad to be sharing her life with you. If you let her read this book – she will adore you even more. ⭐

      • Hmmmm,.. Maybe you’re right- and, I can nap on the book!! MOL- and I don’t think she’ll want a dog anyway- she already has lovely little me- and you can’t improve on PURRfection!!!😸

    • It is adorable, absolutely. And it might help keep frustration at bay when a dog does not do what a human expects – what makes sense to us may not make sense to a canine.

Leave a reply :-)

