Witch Hunt (Preternatural Affairs, #1) by SM Reine


Witch_Hunt_SMR

 

Leiah Cooper sent me a copy of this book (epub format) on behalf of the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

A brutal murder.

There are scratches on Cèsar Hawke’s arms, a discharged Glock on his coffee table, and a dead woman in his bathtub. Yeah, maybe he brought the waitress home for some fun — he was too drunk to remember it — but he knows for a fact that he didn’t kill her. He’s an agent with the Office of Preternatural Affairs. He doesn’t hurt people. He saves them.

The cops disagree. Now Cèsar is running.

The search for a shaman.

Isobel Stonecrow speaks with the dead…for the right price. She brings closure to the bereaved and heals broken hearts. But when she resurrects someone for the wrong client, she ends up on the OPA’s most wanted list.

One risky solution.

Tracking down Isobel is the last case assigned to Cèsar before he bolts. If he finds her, he can prove that he didn’t kill that waitress. He can clear his name, get his job back, and bring justice to the victim.

She’s just one witch. Cèsar has bagged a dozen witches before.

How hard can one more be?

 

Genre:  Urban Fantasy Mystery

Length:  234 pages

 

Teaser


My name’s Cèsar Hawke. I’m a witch working for a division of the government you’ve never heard about.

The world’s not what everyone thinks it is – unless you think that our world’s a pawn in a game of chess between Heaven and Hell, and riddled with as much magic and wonder as it is with evil.


 

My Opinion

This story introduces you to Cèsar. He is an agent with the Office for Preternatural Affairs. He wakes up with a major hangover – and his world is turned upside down. I cannot tell you more about the story as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With Witch Hunt, SM Reine presents us with a fast-paced – part gory, part hilarious – mystery. The story is cleverly elaborated, focuses on Cèsar and his way of solving a crime he did not commit. SM Reine describes her characters with not too many words and still makes you see them clearly before you. I was drawn in, felt like a shadow close to Cèsar and the events. I could easily envision the characters and locations. I had a very good time reading Witch Hunt. I also liked the quite different protagonist’s name; not the usual César or Cesare – Cèsar!

If you do not mind occasional language (!) – and like this genre – you will like it.   🙂

Witch Hunt is well written and – I am really looking forward to reading the next books within The Preternatural Affairs series.

This is a book to read again.

 

About the author

Hi everyone! My name is Sara, and I write urban fantasy and paranormal novels as SM Reine. I collect swords, cat hair, and typewriters (which I do use for writing!). It’s a good day when those three things have nothing to do with each other.

If you would like to know the instant my next book is available, you should enlist in my Army of Evil! We have a wicked cool secret handshake, but you’ll have to sign up to learn it. 😉 Check it out — http://smarturl.it/armyofevil

Connect with the Author:

Website:  http://authorsmreine.com/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/smreine

Buy Link:

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Witch Hunt?  Or – if you did not yet read Witch Hunt – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Witch Hunt was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Witch Hunt (Preternatural Affairs, #1) by SM Reine

  1. Much better movie then you would expect from a made for TV film about a little girl missing in the Australian countryside and the search for her amid accusations between her grandparents and father on who’s responsible for her disappearance.

Leave a reply :-)

