3 Quotes – Loss


Every human being must find his own way to cope with severe loss, and the only job of a true friend is to facilitate whatever method he chooses.

Caleb Carr, American novelist
born:  August 2, 1955
died:  –

Grief is a normal and natural response to loss. It is originally an unlearned feeling process. Keeping grief inside increases your pain.

Anne Grant, Scottish poet
born:  February 21, 1755
died:  November 7, 1838

Grief is in two parts.
The first is loss.
The second is the remaking of life.

Anne Roiphe, American journalist
born:  December 25, 1935
died:  –

 

3Quotes

 

Which are your favourite quotes on loss, the ones that really comfort you?

This topic was requested by Patricia.

This Irish blessing is for you, my friend:

In Time of Sorrow…

May you see God’s light on the path ahead
When the road you walk is dark.
May you always hear,
Even in your hour of sorrow,
The gentle singing of the lark.
When times are hard may hardness
Never turn your heart to stone,
May you always remember
when the shadows fall—
You do not walk alone.

 

 

12 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Loss

  1. Grief is a normal and natural response to loss. It is originally an unlearned feeling process. Keeping grief inside increases your pain. This hits home form me. I’m so guilty of it. I think thats the reason I write. It relieves the pressure. Greata quotes Karen. I’ll have another book for you to read soon if you have time. My short story is currently with my copy editor.

    • Keeping grief inside can be pretty poisonous, indeed. Writing supports the healing process.
      Thanks for the praise, Sandra.
      I am looking forward to reading your book!

  2. The best book I know of on grief is Elizabeth Harper Neeld “Seven Choices.”

    What I say to people in grief is that it is like a broken bone. It hurts, and the pain is legitimate. It’s OK to feel the pain. Everything going well, it will heal, and the site of the fracture will be stronger than other bone. And things can go wrong, if you make the wrong choices, such as denying the pain, or running away from it.

    I wrote this when a lady I was nursing died.

    To a Grieving Husband
    by Bob Rich

    She will return.
    Having lived the joys and agonies,
    ecstasies and sorrows of this life —
    to do better the next time around.

    Will her passing make you a better person,
    as her presence did, by your side?
    Her school is in recess for now,
    for she has passed, though our examination is still to come.

    She will return.

  3. Karen, exactly what I needed to move forward. Thank you for posting, I made a copy and placed in my purse. My life is a little wobbly right now and these will help me when I’m feel overwhelmed. Patricia

    • Patricia, thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad that I could be of help. If you want me to cover another topic, just drop me a line. Take care.
      Karen

  4. Death is not the greatest loss in life. The greatest loss is what dies inside us while we live.

    Norman Cousins

Leave a reply :-)

