Behind the Black Door (Supergirls, #1) by Mav Skye


Supergirls

Former cover

supergirls1_150

New cover

 

 

StoryCartel sent me an advanced reading copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Amazon)

Sisters Jenn and May have finally found their golden ticket out of the slums. Pervy sugar daddy, Frederick Bells, promises to be an easy score with a big payoff—millions are hidden within his mansion.

The plan is simple: tie up the pig, steal his cash, and skip town. But fate has a different plan, including a villain with a wicked imagination. The sisters resort to playing their childhood game SUPERGIRLS to battle their fears in Bell’s den of horrors.

Will the SUPERGIRLS find their prize or will their heads join the pile behind the black cellar door?

 

Genre:  Suspense, Horror

Series:  1st in the Supergirls series

Length:  87 pages

 

Teaser


Leroy had met May at 7-11 to set up the three-night affair. I ran his name over and over in my mind, trying to recall if another girl had mentioned him. Frederick Bells didn’t, well… didn’t ring a bell.


 

My Opinion

The first book of Behind the Black Door series introduces you to the protagonists, Jenn and May, sisters in need to improve their lives and – THE plan to succeed. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Amazon plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Behind the Black Door, Mav Skye has created the first instalment of the Supergirls series. It is a very unusual read. Jenn and May seemed a little strange at the beginning. While I was still trying to determine what to think of them, the story sucked me in, held me in its grip, spitting me out again after completing the read. I never had such a 4D experience before – all senses on full alert; had someone told me to duck – I’d have ducked… Behind the Black Door is entertaining à la Tarantino with a shade of horror, a fast read, appealing not only to Tarantino fans.

This book is the first instalment of a quite different series.

 

About the author

When Mav Skye isn’t turning innocent characters into axe murderers, refinishing old furniture, chasing around her spring ducklings, or reading the latest horror novel, she’s editing at the almighty Pulp Metal Magazine.
She adores puppies, pirates, skulls, red hots, Tarantino movies and yes, Godzilla.
Especially Godzilla.

She is the author of THE UNDISTILLED SKY and newly released suspense novella, SUPERGIRLS. Look for her wicked horror romance, Wanted:Single Rose, this fall and the second book in the SUPERGIRLS series, Night without Stars, early 2015.

 

Connect with the Author:

Amazon:  Mav Skye
Amazon US:  Buy link
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ ++++++ +++ +++ +++ +++

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Behind the Black Door?  Or – if you did not yet read Behind the Black Door – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Behind the Black Door was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Behind the Black Door (Supergirls, #1) by Mav Skye

  1. Pingback: Wanted: Single Rose by Mav Skye | My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: Night Without Stars (Supergirls, #2) by Mav Skye | My train of thoughts on...

  3. Pingback: 10 Statements – Mav Skye | My train of thoughts on...

Leave a reply :-)

