3 Quotes – Writing


I pretty much drink a cup of coffee, write in my journal for a while, and then sit at a computer in my office and torture the keys. My one saving grace as a writer is that, if I’m having trouble with the novel I’m writing, I write something else, a poem or a short story. I try to avoid writer’s block by always writing something.

Jess Walter, American author
born:  June 20, 1965
died:  –

Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic and fear which is inherent in a human situation.

Graham Greene, British playwright
born:  October 2, 1904
died:  April 3, 1991

In my later years, I have looked in the mirror each day and found a happy person staring back. Occasionally I wonder why I can be so happy. The answer is that every day of my life I’ve worked only for myself and for the joy that comes from writing and creating. The image in my mirror is not optimistic, but the result of optimal behavior.

Ray Bradbury, American writer
born:  August 22, 1920
died:  June 5, 2012

 

3Quotes

 

Which are your favourite quotes on ‘writing’?  🙂

This topic was requested by Marcia Carrington.  ⭐

 

 

13 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Writing

  1. The second one is so important to me. Writing and music and, occasionally, my meagre drawing skills, have been such great therapy when things get tough. People sometimes ask me how I find the discipline to constantly keep writing and creating, but it’s not really that I want to do it – it’s that I need to.

    • Graham Greene was a wise man. Those who ask you how – most certainly have their own stuff they do in a very disciplined manner. We are driven – and most of the times this is pretty healthy.

  2. I love the quote by Graham Greene. One of my favorite quotes about writing is by Carl Sandburg: “Ordering a man to write a poem is like commanding a pregnant woman to give birth to a red-haired child.”

  3. Great writing quotes 🙂 – and the timing is nice because so many folks are writing their November novel ! but quote #2 resonates the most with me – because journaling – and other arts – have been my therapy for decades – ahhhhh – and I notice from the comments that you have been reading Greene since childhood – well I have not heard of him – so thanks for the introduction to this wise writer…

    • Thank you very much! 🙂
      We all need some inspiration. And we all have our methods to overcome certain obstacles.
      Graham Greene’s works were more for me than reading and analysing tasks for classes.
      ‘The Third Man’ was filmed in 1949, starring Orson Welles, Joseph Cotton and Alida Valli.

  4. “My one saving grace as a writer is that, if I’m having trouble with the novel I’m writing, I write something else, a poem or a short story.”
    I’m thankful to see this quote! I have been struggling a little and started jumping around a bit. It felt better than writing nothing at all, but I sometimes wondered if I was “doing it wrong”. Guess not! 😉

    • This is indeed a very reassuring quote. It is useful, to proceed like that, keeps our minds flexible, eases tension. And it provides us with a new boost of confidence… 🙂

  5. Number 2 – so powerful – Graham Greene, who wrote The End of the Affair in 1951, is one of the most widely read and critically acclaimed British novelists of the 20th century.

Leave a reply :-)

