Arson by C. S. Boyack


Arson

My rating:  4.4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Amazon)

Perry Wolfe is an elite space firefighter. He loves his job, his life, and his future looks bright. He loses everything in a freak accident.
Marked as uninsurable, he can not only never work in space again, he can never be a firefighter again. His entire family consists of generations of firefighters. When his sister is murdered, he applies for her job as a federal arson investigator with ATF.
Can he keep his head in the game long enough to pass basic instruction? He has clues to his sister’s murder, but must stay in the program long enough to test his theories. He’s at the wrong agency to investigate the murder of a federal agent.
Perry can only push himself so far. He needs to mourn sometime, and start coming to grips with the fact that his world changed. Perhaps there is something he needs on a small planet called Quantico II, in the city of Glynco II.

 

Genre(s):  Science Fiction

Length:  456 pages (Amazon estimate)

 

Teaser


Perry waited for the wind to die down before he untied himself. The oxygen tanks were all attached to face masks. He’d performed this maneuver a million times in a vacuum room on Earth. Now his hands shook as he did it in real time. Step one, uncouple the breathing hose and face mask using the bayonet mount. Step two, discard the face mask. Step three, …


 

My Opinion

This story introduces you to Perry Wolfe. He is a firefighter and – he loves his job. An accident ends his career and steers his life in a different direction. I cannot tell you more about the story as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With Arson, C. S. Boyack presents us the intriguing story of a man who loses his dream job, starts training camp for a different job while trying to solve his sister’s murder. This story is cleverly elaborated, has a good flow, a certain humorous streak, focuses on Perry, his acquaintances and adversaries. C. S. Boyack describes his characters’ looks in enough detail, you can imagine them clearly. I was drawn into the story – unnoticed in the crowd – held my fingers crossed for Perry. I could easily envision the characters and locations. I had a pretty good time reading Arson. It is an enjoyable read.

This is a book to read again.

 

About the author

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

Craig

Connect with the Author:

Website:  https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Virgilante

Amazon:  C. S. Boyack

Buy Link:

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Arson?  Or – if you did not yet read Arson – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Arson was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

14 thoughts on “Arson by C. S. Boyack

  1. Pingback: The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack II by C.S. Boyack – My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: The Playground by C. S. Boyack – My train of thoughts on…

  3. Pingback: The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  4. Pingback: The Cock of the South by C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  5. Pingback: Cover Reveal: The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  6. Pingback: Panama by C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  7. Pingback: Will O’ the Wisp by C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  8. Pingback: Interview – Lisa Burton (Wild Concept) | My train of thoughts on...

Leave a reply :-)

