Kings and Queens by Terry Tyler


Kings_and_Queens

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review (member of Rosie’s Book Review Team).

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Terry Tyler’s seventh novel is a romantic drama spanning the years 1971 – 2007, with an unusual echo from history …

“KINGS AND QUEENS” tells of the life and loves of charismatic Harry Lanchester, which just happen to mirror the story of Henry VIII and his six wives. All the passion and suspense of the Tudor court, but set in modern times.

Harry’s realm is his South of England property developing company, Lanchester Estates, while his ‘wives’ are the twentieth century sisters of their historic counterparts: Anne Boleyn is reincarnated as the equally intriguing Annette Hever, and Henry VIII’s fifth wife with the risqué past, Catherine Howard, lives again in 1999 as Keira Howard, a former lap dancer.

The saga is narrated by each of the six women, in turn, interspersed with short chapters from the point of view of Harry’s lifelong friend, Will Brandon.

Don’t worry if you know nothing of this period in history – “Kings and Queens” can be enjoyed as a contemporary family drama, very much in the vein of Ms Tyler’s previous novels. Readers with an interest in the Tudors, though, will pick up on many similarities, references and metaphors, some quite amusing. For those non-Tudor fanatics who would like a brief look at the life of Henry VIII before reading, the author has included, in the Kindle book, a link to a mini-biography on her blog.

A sequel, following the lives of Harry’s three children, is already planned.

 

Genre(s):  Family drama, contemporary fiction

Series:  n.a.

Pages:  387 (estimated)

 

Teaser


…When I’d first known Alex, Harry was a scrawny, cheeky little nightmare who thought he would grow up to be Robert Plant from Led Zeppelin, but when he came into the room, now, the boy was forgotten. He was tall, handsome, and looked a damn sight older than sixteen.


 

My Opinion

The book introduces you to Harry Lanchester, second born of a property development dynasty. When his older brother Alex comes to hazard, he is destined to become the future leader of the company. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Kings and Queens, Terry Tyler has created a rather intriguing story of a family with interesting parallels to Henry VIII and his wives. Kings and Queens is an entertaining and gripping read with all too real characters. Terry Tyler carefully lets her characters evolve – a true art. I was drawn into the story right away, feeling like a close observer. I didn’t really like Harry – and I feel good about it: He is masterly portrayed as a despicable person – at least from my point of view. All other characters equally real with all their virtues and/or flaws. Kings and Queens is a great read for family saga and drama fans, readers who like parallels to history.

This is definitely not my usual genre. Despite that, I consider this a book to read again.

Recommended!

 

About the author

My latest full-length novel, Kings and Queens, is a modern take on the story of Henry VIII and his six wives. The sequel, Last Child, is nearing completion. I’ve been so obsessed with it that I’ve neglected everything else. I mean, seriously.

My books are contemporary fiction, mostly of interest to women, but many men have read them too; “Dream On” has more reviews from men than from women, on here. I write about the issues that concern so many today; divorce, infidelity, addiction, obsession with celebrity, stalking, meeting people via social networking sites. However, I shall be moving more into histfic as time goes on.

Reading wise, I like Phillipa Gregory, Douglas Kennedy, John Boyne and Deborah Moggach, and anything else I happen to fancy. My sister bumped into John Boyne on a train last week…

When I’m not writing I spend a stupid amount of time on here, Twitter and Facebook. I love crime drama series like “24”, “Breaking Bad”, “Boardwalk Empire” and am a “Game of Thrones” addict – the books as well as the TV series. I love watching films, and anything to do with history (reading, watching, or walking round places like Lindisfarne Priory going ‘wow’). Like going to see bands, too, and general countryside type things.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Kings and Queens?  Or – if you did not yet read Kings and Queens  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Kings and Queens was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

rosies-book-review-team-1

 

Leave a reply :-)

