Hunters (The Demon Series, #1) by Aoife Marie Sheridan


Hunters

The author sent me an ARC of this book (Word format) in exchange for an honest review (member of Rosie’s Book Review Team).

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Abigail is nineteen. Her job, she hunts demons.

Her life so far has been tough. Having witnessed her family’s death and her mother’s suicide, she’s been taken in by a priest, who believes her when she says that she sees ghosts. Father Peter trains her as a demon hunter with three other members, one being Daniel, who isn’t what he seems.
But when a possession goes wrong, and ghosts start to attack Abigail, the tight rope she has on her emotions soon starts to loosen. Abigail draws the unwanted attention of the Reote, and she finds out a lot more than she was willing to learn.
Knowledge is power, but for Abigail, it’s her undoing, and the only thing keeping her together is Daniel.

Genre(s):  Paranormal

Series:  #1

Pages:  185 (estimated)

Teaser


The sound of the engine dying down alerted me that we had stopped. I was home. Zee had parked just outside my apartment building. I climbed off handing him the helmet.

“I need some time alone, Daniel.” I never used his proper name, but I really wanted to be alone.

“Okay, but if you need me…” I shook my phone at him, my hands trembled slightly so I stuck them back into my pockets to hide them from his watchful eyes, but he had seen the shake in my hands and seen the blood, he wasn’t stupid. “Yeah, I know you’re only a phone call away.” He smiled weakly and turned to go.


My Opinion

The book introduces you to Abigail Thornton, demon hunter. She is troubled and – she is trouble. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Hunters, Aoife Marie Sheridan has created a rather intriguing story of a group of demon hunters and their secrets. Hunters is an entertaining and gripping read with characters who stubbornly try to hide the skeleton they have in their cupboard. Aoife Marie Sheridan slowly but surely reveals Abigail’s issues. It took me a few pages to be drawn into the story, then I felt like an invisible part of the team. I considered Abigail quite exhausting; this is not as bad as it might seem: She is only 19, has a dreadful past – at least from my point of view. All other characters have their own issues to deal with. Towards the end there are some interesting revelations. This first instalment ends with a cliffhanger. I trust that we will not have to wait long for the second instalment. Hunters is a good read for paranormal and/or urban fantasy fans.

I consider this a book to read again and am looking forward to reading the second instalment.

About the author

Aoife Marie Sheridan has loved reading from a very young age, starting off with mills and boon’s books, given to by her grandmother her love for romances grew, by the age of 14 she had read hundreds of them.

Aoife had a passion for writing poetry or in her eyes her journal entries. It was something she did throughout her teens and into her twenties. Aoife won first place for two of her poems and had them published at a young age of just nineteen. Realising she needed to get a real job (What writing isn’t) she studied accountancy and qualified working in that field for many years, until her passion for reading returned and she found Maria V Snyder. Poison study one of her favourite books has been read and re-read countless times.

Connect with the Author:

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Hunters?  Or – if you did not yet read Hunters  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Hunters was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

rosies-book-review-team-1

6 thoughts on “Hunters (The Demon Series, #1) by Aoife Marie Sheridan

    • It’s a fascinating mix of the unexpected with some classic stuff. I need to know more and – I tend to reread if I really like a book. 🙂

  1. Great getting to know Aoife Marie Sheridan. The story sounds great, as well. I hope to read Hunters soon, as I have some time freeing up within the month.

    • Aoife’s other books seem pretty interesting as well.
      The cliffhanger isn’t too much of a nuisance, it rather has me musing about the possible angle for the second instalment. I assume you’ll like ‘Hunters’, Jack.

Leave a reply :-)

