Of Love and Secrets by Margaret Lynette Sharp


Of_Love_And_Secrets

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Amazon)

This is the story of an eighteen-year old woman as she battles for autonomy and a life of her own. Still living at home, under the ever-watchful eye of her domineering mother, Jenny struggles to build a life and find love. What is her destiny?

 

Genre:  New adult, romance

Series:  n.a.

Length:  142 pages (estimated)

 

Teaser


I swallowed carefully. “You’re so lucky, Cate. My mum treats me like a child. And Dad’s not much better…”

“Why? What’s been happening?”

I sighed. “Oh James and I split up. And all Mum can do is dismiss it as puppy love.”


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to 18-year-old Jenny. After a break-up, her mother wants her to take it slow. I cannot tell you more about the story as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With Of Love and Secrets, Margaret Lynette Sharp presents us with a new adult romance, narrated in first person – i.e. from Jenny’s point of view. Romance is not my typical genre, therefore I really liked that this novel is not a hard-core romance. This new adult romance ‘has soul’; Margaret elaborates Jenny’s feelings sympathetically. As the story proceeds, many readers remember their feelings they had at that age: an 18-year-old girl vs her mother. Both parties fail to understand the other’s feelings completely. At 18, I didn’t have the experiences I have now; I might have had similar thoughts. The characters are real enough to be family members or friends – I liked how they fit into the story with its pleasant flow. I had a good time reading Of Love and Secrets.

 

About the author

Margaret Lynette Sharp spent her early years in an inner city suburb of Sydney, moving with her family to a leafy, outer suburb at the age of ten.
A self-motivated student who loved to seek out information, she matriculated just before her eighteenth birthday. Her enthusiasm for literature led to further studies, with a particular focus on Short Story Writing
Shortly after the death of her elderly mother whom she cared for, Margaret met and later married Ronald Sharp B.E.M., the creator of the Sydney Opera House Grand Organ. She believes that, without doubt, he is her greatest fan and motivator.
Excelling in English himself, Ron has edited her work.
To date, Margaret has eleven titles available.

Connect with the Author:

Website:  http://margaretlynettesharp.wordpress.com/
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/MargaretLynett1
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/…Margaret_Lynette_Sharp

Buy Link:

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Of Love and Secrets?  Or – if you did not yet read Of Love and Secrets – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Of Love and Secrets was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

Review:  Love, Desire and Betrayal by Margaret Lynette Sharp

 

3 thoughts on “Of Love and Secrets by Margaret Lynette Sharp

Leave a reply :-)

