The Black Swan Inheritance (The Black Swan Series, #1) by Marigold Deirdre Dicer


The_Black_Swan_Inheritance

 

The author sent me an ARC for this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

The Black Swan is native to Australia, unrelated to the pure White Swan of Europe. She is found in the strangest of places – from ugly mines to ordered farmland, beautiful bush to battered beach.
Yet, she always shies away from humanity.
The Black Swan is always beautiful, surprisingly resilient and very, very powerful. Most Black Swans are wise enough not to use that power to challenge the status quo.
Most…

Anita had the kind of reputation in high school that no one wants to carry into adulthood, especially since she wants to be a doctor like her dad. Now at university, she is determined to be good, but one little end-of-semester celebration can’t hurt, right? Well it can if she ends up having a one-night stand with a werewolf that triggers a dark awakening. Turns out Anita’s over-active libido isn’t just hormonal – it’s magical.
The Black Swan is a powerful legacy that brings both temptation and danger. Having now inherited the title and all that comes with it, Anita finds herself beset upon by ancient abominations that won’t take no for an answer. No wonder the Black Swan had been driven to seclusion and banishment in the past. But Anita is determined not to run away – she is here to help, whether the medieval dragon-wolf or the undead cultists want it or not.
She will be no one’s pawn. She will rise to the challenge.
If she can just manage to deal with her own flaws first. Anxiety, panic-attacks, and bouts of bitchiness does not a diplomat make.

DISCLOSURE: PLEASE NOTE
This New Adult Paranormal Fantasy includes regular coarse language, violence, sexual references and a sex scene.
There is also reference to rape. Not in any detail, but there is reference to it.
END DISCLOSURE

 

Genre(s):  Paranormal, new adult

Series:  #1

Pages:  235

 

Teaser


“Wait,” he gasped from the bed behind me. “Tell me who you are.”

I glanced back at him, my long black hair trailing around my body in the hot summer night’s breeze. “Anita. My name is Anita.”

I thrust myself into the air, my wings beating with my heart and riding the sky with ease. My night was drawing to a close, and it was time I returned home.


 

My Opinion

The book introduces you to Anita, studying to become a doctor. A hot dream and a girls’ night out are only the beginning of events that will change her life forever. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With The Black Swan Inheritance, Marigold Deirdre Dicer has created an intriguing story of a young woman who learns that there is magic in the world, on the way becomes more confident and finds a way to get over her anxiety attacks. The Black Swan Inheritance is an entertaining and very gripping read with a very likeable main character. You can watch Anita grow, her instincts tell her most of the times who to trust. Power often leads to corruption; Anita wants to be a good person and to make the right decisions. Marigold Deirdre Dicer develops the story in an awesome way – it has a great flow. I was drawn into the story right away, was very close to Anita and all events. This first instalment is a very promising start of a series. I just have to read the next instalments! The Black Swan Inheritance is a great read for paranormal and/or new adult fans. Also an interesting reads for those who read their fair share of vampire stories, witches and urban fantasy in general.

This a book to read again. Highly recommended.

 

About the author

I graduated uni with a science bachelor, went to work in the mines for five years, and now I’m back at doing a postgrad course to become a high school teacher.

I like my cozy mysteries to be about the mystery, and my paranormal fantasies to be about the magic. I will give most books a try, and am currently accepting indie books in exchange for an honest review. Please check out my blog for details.

Also, if you would like to receive a free copy of my ebook in exchange for an honest review, I will be very happy to comply.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Black Swan Inheritance?  Or – if you did not yet read The Black Swan Inheritance  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If The Black Swan Inheritance was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

rosies-book-review-team-1

 

7 thoughts on “The Black Swan Inheritance (The Black Swan Series, #1) by Marigold Deirdre Dicer

  1. Pingback: 10 Statements – Marigold Deirdre Dicer | My train of thoughts on...

Leave a reply :-)

