Fallen on Good Times (Pilgrim’s Wane, #1) by Rewan Tremethick


Fallen_on_Good_Times

The author sent me a copy (epub format) in exchange for an honest review (member of Rosie’s Book Review Team).

 

My rating:  4.2  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Fairy tales are warnings. Legend is history. Monsters are real.
Paranormal detective Laslo Kane learned the truth the hard way. He’s had enough of the supernatural trying to kill him, but his latest job offer could provide him with a way out. A desperate investor has come to him for help investigating the murder of his business partner, and the money he is offering could change Laslo’s life forever.
It quickly becomes apparent that the killing is just one of several and that they are all linked. Laslo must follow the trail, even though he knows exactly where it ends: the mob.
Can Laslo survive and claim his fee, or will earning a living be the death of him?

 

Genre(s):  Paranormal, Crime

Series:  Pilgrim’s Wane, #1

Length:  188 (estimated)

 

Teaser


“Laslo,” he said, standing and holding out his hand.

I took it.

“How strange, that’s my name too,” I said.

“I was greeting you, Mr Kane,” he said. “My name is Darius Targar.”


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to paranormal detective Laslo Kane and his cases in the 1920s; prohibition being in full bloom. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Fallen on Good Times, Rewan Tremethick has created an unconventional combination of a paranormal crime series with a humorous touch in the 1920s. Fallen on Good Times is the promising start of a series. You can’t help getting to like Laslo more and more as the story develops. He is quite a character, he made me shake my head, hold my breath, urge him on – you can see I was drawn into the story. It is a fast and entertaining read. This is for you if you like paranormal crime and a character you don’t easily forget.  😉

Laslo Kane is addictive!  😀

Recommended.

 

About the author

Rewan (not pronounced ‘Rowan’) Tremethick is a British author who was named after a saint. St Ruan was invulnerable to wolves; Rewan isn’t. Rewan is a fan of clever plots, strong women who don’t have to be described using words like ‘feisty’, and epic music. He has dabbled in stand-up comedy, radio presenting, and writing sentences without trying to make a joke. He balances his desire to write something meaningful by wearing extremely tight jeans.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Fallen on Good Times?  Or – if you did not yet read Fallen on Good Times  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If the Fallen on Good Times was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

rosies-book-review-team-1

 

8 thoughts on “Fallen on Good Times (Pilgrim’s Wane, #1) by Rewan Tremethick

  1. Pingback: Recommendation: Fallen on Good Times by Rewan Tremethick – My train of thoughts on…

  2. This looks interesting! It’s been a while since I’ve read a noir-ish paranormal crime novel, and I’ve never read one in a different time setting. I’m gonna check this out 🙂

    • It is a very interesting combination, indeed. And there is Laslo. He’s a character you don’t easily forget. It’s good to know that there will be more cases/adventures, etc. You’ll certainly like this book. 🙂

    • I can’t reply to your comment below unfortunately, so I’ll reply to this message to make sure you get it. Just wanted to say thanks for your interest Marigold and for buying the book. I hope you enjoy it, and do let me know your thoughts!

      Rewan

      • I’ll have to remember to send you a message when I review it! But I am reading for pleasure so it may be a few months yet (long TBR list to get through)

Leave a reply :-)

