3 Quotes – Alice Munro


Alice_Munro

 

 

 

Alice Munro, Canadian author

Nobel Prize in Literature 2013

born:
June 10, 1931 in Wingham, Ontario, Canada

 

Memory is the way we keep telling ourselves our stories – and telling other people a somewhat different version of our stories.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The stories are not autobiographical, but they’re personal in that way. I seem to know only the things that I’ve learned. Probably some things through observation, but what I feel I know surely is personal.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I want the reader to feel something is astonishing. Not the ‘what happens,’ but the way everything happens. These long short story fictions do that best, for me.

 

 

Which is your favourite quote by Alice Munro?Β  πŸ™‚


11 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Alice Munro

  1. I enjoy Alice Munro’s writing so much, this was a wonderful tribute to her. That last quote about how she wants the reader to feel everything happening describes so well how she writes, letting the scenes unfold before us in the most natural way.

    • This quote on her writing is my favourite as well. Her Nobel Prize is well deserved. This was actually the only time I saw a live transmission of the ceremony.

Leave a reply :-)

