10 Statements – James Derry


IMG_0139_bw_700

I’ve been writing or drawing stories since the day my parents let me borrow a ballpoint pen. A few years later I created my first magnum opus in blue ink: a comic-book parody of Ghostbusters called ‘Roastbusters.’ Hey, I was ten. I studied art in college, hoping to become an illustrator. But eventually my aspirations shifted, and I became a graphic designer (living in Atlanta). I returned to writing ten years ago when I met my wife. Since then I’ve spent large chunks of my free time writing (and rewriting) my manuscripts. LINE OF DESCENT is the first of my books to see the light of day. I hope to release a Space Western, IDYLL, before mid-year!

 

Find me…

Website:  james-derry.com
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/derrywriter
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/James-Derry/508342985941322?ref=bookmarks
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13527973.James_Derry
(just started that one!)

My personal motto:

“Bend. Don’t Break.

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… breakfast for the kids, then a desperate 10-minute nap to wring as much sleep from the morning as possible.
  2. I lose track of time… during my lunch hour.
  3. I have always… had an aversion to most white and yellow foods. Cheeses, eggs, yogurts, mayo, creams, or cremes. Exceptions would include the middle of Oreos.
  4. I have never… been to New York City. It’s very embarrassing.
  5. Home means to me… a place where you feel comfortable putting your feet on the couch.
  6. I am inspired by… China Mieville, for stretching his unique style and vision to cover several types of genres. Geniuses like John Steinbeck and Donna Tartt who can arrange a seemingly ordinary series of words and punctuation and use them to encapsulate and broaden all of human existence.
  7. I would like to meet… the first stranger who bought my book. Who was this person? What were they thinking?
  8. My worst character trait… I’m too antisocial.
  9. My best character trait… I’d like to think I’m fairly resilient.
  10. The best advice I was given… ‘You must be willing to kill your darlings.’ I’m not sure I’ve evolved enough as a writer to follow this advice totally. But I can see how it can be kind of liberating to view every part of your work as possibly expendable. And a great passage that doesn’t work in one novel might end up working perfectly in another.

Upside Down 3LINE OF DESCENT is a paranormal/horror novel. I think of it as a mix of Neil Gaiman’s American Gods and the movie ‘Paranormal Activity’—with a bit of ‘Mommie Dearest’ thrown in for good measure!

Amazon U.S.:  buy link

Amazon U.K.:  buy link


Dear readers, please stay tuned for my upcoming review!

7 thoughts on “10 Statements – James Derry

  1. Pingback: Idyll by James Derry | My train of thoughts on...

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Idyll by James Derry | My train of thoughts on...

  3. Pingback: Line of Descent by James Derry | My train of thoughts on...

Leave a reply :-)

