3 Quotes – Ben Okri


Ben_Okri

 

 

Ben Okri,
Nigerian writer

 

Booker Prize 1991

 

born:
March 15, 1959 in Minna, Nigeria

 

 

The best writing is not about the writer, the best writing is absolutely not about the writer, it’s about us, it’s about the reader.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I began my writing life as a poet, so poetry has always been fundamental. I evolved from poetry to journalism to stories to novels. But poetry was always there.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Reading is an act of civilization; it’s one of the greatest acts of civilization because it takes the free raw material of the mind and builds castles of possibilities.

 

 

Which is your favourite quote by Ben Okri?  🙂


16 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Ben Okri

  1. Love the last one! I think I over think what I’m putting my poor readers through. I need to trust them to judge for themselves to keep reading or quit and go elsewhere.

    • This quote’s the true winner! 😀
      A dedicated reader following your blog will always appreciate your writing. If not – they should seize the opportunity to let you know.

  2. I love that – it takes the free raw material of the mind and builds castles of possibilities. This is so true. Reading – Knowledge – Learn – Develop – Grow – Turn Dreams – Into reality.

  3. I prefer the first because it’s provocative. I don’t think it’s always true, though good writing often considers an audience. The quote starts a conversation.

    • That’s an excellent choice, Carl.
      I consider my readers when writing – because as a reader, I love to buy into the story I read. Who doesn’t want to make the readers happy?

Leave a reply :-)

