Swarm II (Swarm, #2) by Alex South


Swarm_II

The author sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

A group of survivors is forced from their adopted home. On the run, they must find shelter and avoid the undead. Things grow more complicated as they come across a new threat. Not quite human. Not quite zombie – but with its arrival comes more questions, more dangers, and more choices. Choices that will decide not only the fate of the group, but perhaps the fate of all humankind.

 

Genre(s):  Horror, Zombies

Series:  Swarm, #2

Length:  204 pages

Release date:  2015-01-27

 

Teaser


There are only two reasons to run: to get away from something, or to get to something. For John it was both.


 

My Opinion

Swarm II begins at a fast pace – John and his group are on the run. The characters are still believable and fit into the plot. They have to adapt their survival strategy as number and new abilities of the zombies grow and there seems to be even another threat. I was again drawn into the story without realising it at first. No. I won’t tell you more. This would spoil the fun of your reading it yourself.

Swarm II is not a zombie novella like any other. Alex South’ approach is not new, yet cleverly handled. In his second book, the adventure is quite different. Even as a reader, I asked myself the same questions about survival; I was part of the story…

Like its predecessor, Swarm II luckily is a fast and thrilling read – as you may not be inclined to put it down. A good read for all those who enjoy a zombie thriller in novella length.

I need to know what happens next, therefore I am looking forward to reading Swarm III.

Did I mention that I love the beginning of the first paragraph (please take another peek at the teaser).  😀

In brief:

Plot Some twists
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Fast
Characters Developed

 

About the author

I’ve been writing fiction since the age of 16, but nowadays, with all these fancy Kindle, e-reader things, and something called ‘print on demand’ I’m able to make physical and digital books, and put them up on sites like Amazon (.com/.co.uk + others).

Also, I blog about life, love, will power, procrastination, trying to be a better person and things that make me laugh.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Swarm II?  Or – if you did not yet read Swarm II  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Swarm II was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Swarm II (Swarm, #2) by Alex South

  1. Great review and good info, but what do you think of the cover? Aren’t there a few too many cliches running into each other? Just my opinion. Does seem to do justice to your description of the book.

    • Thank you very much!
      Several clichés on the cover? Zombies are rotting, hungry – what else is there that I fail to see on the cover?
      Please understand that I cannot reveal more about the story – spoiler alert.

      • Nappy hair, little-girl pigtails, dripping blood, hordes of zombies, night sky, green zombies… No, really, it’s fine, rather tongue-in-cheek, I guess. Looks like teenage comic book cover. And it’s an adult novel? I just looked back at your review and the author’s bio. Is it a graphic novel? That would make sense. I’m being picky. Not like me. The review and cover just didn’t seem to match. I’ll go investigate further on amazon. Thanks.

      • These are certainly some typical zombie features. The cover style for this series is consistent in its graphic novel appearance. I wouldn’t really consider this young adult; it is part of the horror genre. Alex South’s writing style is quite different from Jack Flacco’s style of zombie fiction – yet they both have written a very entertaining zombie series.

Leave a reply :-)

