Last Child by Terry Tyler


Last_Child

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review (member of Rosie’s Book Review Team).

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

LAST CHILD is the sequel to Kings and Queens, Terry Tyler’s modern take on the story of Henry VIII and his six wives.
Harry Lanchester is gone, his legacy passed on to his children:
Thirteen year old JASPER, who views the directors of Lanchester Estates as Harry Potter characters, and finds out that teenage love affairs are no fairytale.
ISABELLA, the eldest daughter; lonely and looking for love, she returns from a holiday in Spain with more than just a suntan.
Impulsive, independent ERIN, the girl of Transport manager Rob Dudley’s dreams, whose priority is not a husband and family, but the continuation of her father’s work.
You will also meet the ambitious Jim Dudley, ex-nanny Hannah Cleveley, Rob’s long suffering wife Amy, and Raine Grey, whose nine days as PR manager for Lanchester Estates have a devastating effect on her life.
LAST CHILD takes the drama, passion and intrigue of Kings and Queens into the present day, with echoes from the past ~ and a glimpse or two into the future…

 

Genre(s):  Family drama, contemporary fiction

Series:  Sequel to Kings and Queens

Length:  363 pages (estimated)

Release date:  2015-02-20

 

Teaser


The tensions concerning both Jaz and Lanchester Estates continued to smoulder under the surface, but the Erin situation exploded fairy soon afterwards, to such a shocking extent that I wondered if my love for her was so unconditional after all.


 

My Opinion

The book provides a greater insight into life after Harry Lanchester’s death. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Last Child, Terry Tyler has created an excellent sequel to Kings and Queens. Harry Lanchester’s death has not only affected his very different offspring; the lives of his friends and employees have changed as well. Last Child is a and gripping read with all too real characters. Terry Tyler carefully lets her characters evolve – a true art. I was drawn into the story right away, feeling like a close observer. This sequel confirmed my opinion on some characters; in some cases I gladly revised my opinion. Jaz, Isabella, Erin and their closest contacts are masterly portrayed. All other characters are equally real with all their virtues and/or flaws. Last Child is a great read for family saga and drama fans, readers who like parallels to history.

This is definitely not my usual genre. Despite that, I consider this – as well as Kings and Queens – as books to read again.

Recommended!

In brief:

Plot Some twists
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed

 

About the author

My eighth full-length novel, Kings and Queens, is a modern take on the story of Henry VIII and his six wives. The sequel, Last Child, has just been published. I’ve been so obsessed with it that I’ve neglected everything else. I mean, seriously.

My books are contemporary fiction, mostly of interest to women, but many men have read them too; “Dream On” has more reviews from men than from women, on here. I write about the issues that concern so many today; divorce, infidelity, addiction, obsession with celebrity, stalking, meeting people via social networking sites. However, I shall be moving more into histfic as time goes on.

Reading wise, I like Phillipa Gregory, Douglas Kennedy, John Boyne and Deborah Moggach, and anything else I happen to fancy. My sister bumped into John Boyne on a train last week…

When I’m not writing I spend a stupid amount of time on here, Twitter and Facebook. I love crime drama series like “24”, “Breaking Bad”, “Boardwalk Empire” and am a “Game of Thrones” addict – the books as well as the TV series. I love watching films, and anything to do with history (reading, watching, or walking round places like Lindisfarne Priory going ‘wow’). Like going to see bands, too, and general countryside type things.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Last Child?  Or – if you did not yet read Last Child  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Last Child was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

rosies-book-review-team-1

 

7 thoughts on “Last Child by Terry Tyler

    • Thanks Rosie, it was great to get the opportunity to read this book as well. The book description was appealing and kept its promises.

Leave a reply :-)

