Society for Supper by TyCobbsTeeth


Society_for_Supper

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4.3  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Wide spread drought has gripped the planet and devastated food supplies around the world. Riots have started breaking out as chaos is tearing away at the fabric of society. Ben Donnelly, a former special weapons and tactics officer with the Boston police force, is in for the fight of his life, trying to protect his family from the storm of inhumanity.

SOCIETY for SUPPER follows the Donnellys in their struggle to survive in the aftermath of the global food shortage and ultimately the collapse of society.
The life they know is ripped away. They learn all too quickly, how we are all part of a precariously balanced community and when the balance is lost–society is devoured by the chaos of desperation.

Buckle-up and follow Ben Donnelly and his family as they try to survive this new hell.

 

Genre(s):  Fiction, Thriller

Series:  n.a.

Length:  308 pages

Release date:  2015-02-19

 

Teaser


During the five-minute drive, he witnessed many of the community’s well to do stuffing their vehicles and preparing to join a sizeable seaside exodus.

“What the hell?” Ben blurted as he approached the one store local to their community. The tiny place was ablaze. Flames had blown out the side window and started to devour the edge of the roof.


 

My Opinion

Society for Supper introduces you to the Donnelly family. The shortage of supplies changes the world they once knew. Where there used to be security, there is now the struggle to survive.

With Society for Supper, TyCobbsTeeth has created a thrilling end time scenario. Society for Supper is a gripping read with believable characters – some likeable, some not. The reader gets some insight into human behaviour in times of crises; often unanticipated character traits come to light. TyCobbsTeeth lets us take part in the Donnelly family’s fight for survival, keeping our senses on alert. The story is fast-paced, kept me in its grip – I just had to know that ‘my’ family was all right. I was drawn into the story, nearly too close for comfort. Society for Supper is a good read not only for end time thriller fans, if you are interested in human behaviour, respect nature and abhor throw-away mentality – this will give you food for thought.

This is a thrilling read; beware – you can’t help getting involved.

 

In brief:

Plot Full of surprises
Mood Dark; Suspenseful
Pace Fast
Characters Developed

 

About the author

Rob Smith —
I write fictional action-based thrillers as TyCobbsTeeth and have authored Society for Supper and Breakfast is Severed.
I have a new one in the hopper that I am really excited about.
My first work was free flowing where I let the story take me where it wanted. It was exhilarating, like reading a riveting page turner that I could steer. I am approaching my new book differently as I wanted to try mapping it out first. I also wanted to try writing from a different perspective–first person. I’m having a blast and have no idea when it will be finished. I’m just enjoying the process.
I have always loved reading and have an avid imagination. I only picked up writing a year ago and it quickly developed into a passion.
I live in Eastern Canada with my amazing wife, two daughters and our Tibetan-Terrier, Cheeky-Monkey.

These days, if I’m not writing I likely have a novel in hand. I seem to be devouring them even more voraciously lately.
If you have any questions for me I would be happy to answer you, so please don’t hesitate to message me.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Society for Supper?  Or – if you did not yet read Society for Supper  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Society for Supper was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

 

Leave a reply :-)

