Gone – in memoriam Gerhard R.


Irish_CrossThis morning, I heard the shocking news: A friend of mine passed away last Friday. I will never forget his gentle soul, our profound discussions, the laughter. I did a little research and found this comforting Irish funeral poem:


Remembering Me
To the living, I am gone
To the sorrowful, I will never return
To the angry, I was cheated
But to the happy, I am at peace
And to the faithful, I have never left
I cannot speak, but I can listen
I cannot be seen, but I can be heard
So as you stand upon the shore
Gazing at the beautiful sea, remember me
As you look in awe at a mighty forest
And in its grand majesty, remember me
Remember me in your hearts,
In your thoughts, and the memories of the
Times we loved, the times we cried,
the battle we fought and the times we laughed
For if you always think of me,
I will never have gone.


 

R.I.P., Gerhard

 

19 thoughts on “Gone – in memoriam Gerhard R.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, Shelley.
      This poem helps a great deal. I calmed down after posting, knowing that I can read revisit whenever in need.

  1. Friends that leave us, leave us always too soon. The poem is a wonderful remembrance. Peace and blessings to all touched that must now say goodbye.

Leave a reply :-)

