Fire and Ice (The League of Protectors; New Age of Heroes Shorts) by Christian Green


TLoP_Fire_and_Ice

The author sent me a copy of this book (pdf format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Being a superhero isn’t easy, especially when you’re still in college. Since the battle in Washington, a little over a year ago, the Post Human crime rate has increased dramatically. The crime-fighting duo Shayne Tucker and Jackson Prescott, have been tasked with the arduous mission of bringing down some of the local criminals. The first few battles prove to be less than challenging for the duo. Things change quickly however, when a new threat determined to change the world emerges. Shayne and Jackson find themselves thrown into a world they are ill prepared for and must rely on one another if they are to survive.

 

Genre(s):  Fantasy, Young Adult

Series:  The League of Protectors, New Age of Heroes Shorts

Length:  101 pages

Release date:  2015-01-20

 

Teaser


“Really?” Shayne said in astonishment. “Out of all the options to take him down, you decide freezing him was the best one?”


 

My Opinion

Fire and Ice focuses on superheroes Shayne Tucker and Jackson Prescott. They are so-called Post Humans – i.e. humans with special (superhero) abilities. One of them produces fire, the other’s weapon is ice. They are not to harm the criminals, justice is handled by other parties.

With Fire and Ice, Christian Green has created a fun and fresh superhero story. Fire and Ice gives you an insight into the life and friendship of two relatively different students; an introvert and an extrovert womanizer. The combination of Shayne and Jackson’s everyday life and their special tasks kept me hooked. Christian Green balances the male students’ habits and needs as well as their crime-fighting superhero abilities well. It is a fast-paced and enjoyable read. I felt like an invisible (sometimes chuckling) observer. Fire and Ice is a good read for young adult superhero fans, who prefer a slightly humorous touch.

This is a pleasant read – I would like to read more about The League of Protectors.

 

In brief (considering this a YA novella):

Plot Some twists
Mood Light-hearted, suspenseful
Pace Fast
Characters Developed

 

About the author

I am an avid reader of all things fantasy related. I have won the Young Authors award three times, so I guess writing has always been in my blood. As a writer, I focus on delivering a compelling story and mixing in captivating dialogue. I am big on creating intriguing actions scenes and delivering a unique story telling experience. While description is important to me, I tend to write in a way in which the audience can imagine these characters as they see fit. I am constantly reading and writing to improve my skills as an author.

 

Connect with the Author:

Amazon:  Christian Green
Amazon (US):  buy link

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Fire and Ice?  Or – if you did not yet read Fire and Ice  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Fire and Ice was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

 

7 thoughts on “Fire and Ice (The League of Protectors; New Age of Heroes Shorts) by Christian Green

Leave a reply :-)

