Everlasting Cronies by Andy Oldham


Everlasting_Cronies

 

The author sent me an ARC of this book (Word format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

In EVERLASTING CRONIES you will enjoy a heart-warming, coming of age story about a trio of racially diverse boys who experience joy, loss, conflict, and redemption during the rural Louisiana summer of 1949. There is beauty, romance, and the racial animosity of the Deep South during that pivotal period. Ample local color, the ghost of the old mule jail, a snake dance, and a traditional Southern funeral, punctuate the drama that teaches the boys profitable life-lessons about faith, trust, loyalty and betrayal. This one unforgettable summer moves this threesome to the cusp of manhood and cements an enduring friendship.

 

Genre(s):  Memoir

Series:  n.a.

Length:  146 pages (estimated)

Release date:  2015-01-07

 

Teaser


Here I found my spirit in tranquil transition from the city to a life in which the many facets of country living melded into one. If I enjoyed one thing more than any other, it was spending time at Uncle Wash’s Country Store. Only one thing kept me from experiencing the moments I spent there. His name was Herkimer, the Great Demon Monster Hill. I’d tried for a year to beat Herkimer, but I couldn’t.


 

My Opinion

This memoir takes its readers to rural Louisiana, back in the summer of 1949. It is the story of nine-year-old Andy; kindness, conflicts, friendship, adventures in this year influenced and/or strengthened his moral values.

With Everlasting Cronies, Andy Oldham has created a compelling slice of his memoirs. The story he is telling is heart-warming. His story-telling is incredible – I was there, able to see, smell, hear, feel. Everlasting Cronies is an entertaining, gripping and carefully paced read, making you want to read more about Andy’s past. I was drawn into the memoir right away. I felt very close to Andy and everything that happened; I was so close that I occasionally, chuckled, drew my breath or even cried. All characters are so authentic that I easily ‘related’ to them, most of them are very likeable, a few seem rather despicable. This is a remarkable memoir, nursing hope and joy – hats off to Andy Oldham!

This is a memoir to read again.

Plot Some twists
Mood Hopeful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed

 

About the author

Hello!
I am accused of being an old soul. You can call me that too, because I love the past and look forward to the future. My name is Andy Oldham. I am the grandfather of two boys, ages 14 and 12. They live 800 miles from my home. I don’t get to see them very often and so I am always looking for ways to engage them in conversation. Thank goodness for cell phones and the ability to text and call, and even send pictures to one another. Technology can be a blessing, after all.

When my Dad died, in 1995, I was re-acquainted at his funeral with many relatives whom I had not seen in many years. I will never forget one of my older cousins making this statement to me and my brothers, “You are now the older generation.”

I didn’t grasp the seriousness of her statement until recently when I began to take a class in writing my memoirs. The awakening began while looking at photographs and understanding that my parents and grandparents were no longer with us. All that remained were these photos and the attached memories.  I then realized that I  stood in their place for my children and future generations. As I grew to appreciate the legacy given me by the older generation, I began to accept responsibility to pass on this mantle of faith in God. As some of the current generation has said, I am now a fossil. Ya know what? I’m proud to be one.

There is so much I have to share, that I cannot possibly tell it all at one time. I plan to share stories of the older generation before me, and stories of my own. I will share stories of my experience with my grandson’s and even some pictures from time to time.

 

Connect with the Author:

Amazon (US):  buy link
Amazon (UK):  buy link

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Everlasting Cronies?  Or – if you did not yet read Everlasting Cronies  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Everlasting Cronies was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

14 thoughts on “Everlasting Cronies by Andy Oldham

  1. Pingback: 10 Statements – Andy Oldham | My train of thoughts on...

  2. andy’s book sounds nice,. and you really are great with reviews – I need to come back and read a few more of your posts – but I also like the chart you give and well, you are an excellent reviewer 🙂

  3. I think you may have introduced me to my next book. I see a bit of myself near the Pearl River when rural small town life set the stage for the rest of my life. Thank you Karen, for providing the connection! 🙂

  4. Karen, all I can say is WoW!!!! I never dreamed of receiving 5 of 5 stars! I am so happy you found it a great read. I appreciate your review and especially your confidence in my story! 😃

    • Andy, I have to thank you for taking me on this intense trip to the past; it was an awesome experience. You conjured the summer of 1949 and – I was there. ⭐
      If you are interested in being featured in my ’10 Statements’ series, please let me know. 🙂

    • Thank you for the praise, Teresa. I’m a confessing readaholic; especially since the invention of ebook readers (a Kindle for mobi and a Tolino for epub formats), I make the most of my spare time. 😀
      Authors deserve the recognition, I like to support great books by spreading the word accordingly.

Leave a reply :-)

