10 Statements – Andy Oldham


Andrew "Andy" Oldham

Andrew “Andy” Oldham

 

 

My name is Andy Oldham. Growing up in Louisiana has been a blessing. Like most southerners there is nothing more important than family. This bond allows one to spend time together and come to a full understanding of who you are. Family not only consist of those you are blessed to call Mom and Dad, or brother or sister, or even friend, but all those whom you love. Because family is so large, there are many stories to share. I have collected my own adventures, and those of others, my entire life. This romantic ambiance ushers, with age, a nostalgic memoir so vast that it could never be written in anything but small slivers of life

Finding the story requires dedication and more than just the facts. It goes to who I am and why I do the things I do. It goes to seeing a cemetery about to be lost, forever, to weeds and indifference and saying I can’t let this happen. The bones here are bones of my bone and flesh of my flesh. It goes to doing something about it. It goes to pride in what our ancestors were able to accomplish. How they contributed to what we are today. It goes to respecting their hardships and losses, their never giving in or giving up, their resoluteness to go on and build a life for their family. It goes to deep pride that they fought to make and keep us a Nation. It goes to a deep and immense understanding that they were doing it for us so that we might be born who we are, that we might remember them. So we do. With love and caring and scribing each fact of their existence, because we are them and they are us. So, as a scribe called, I tell the story of my family, and the story of me, and the stories of others. It is up to that one called in the next generation to answer the call and take their place in the long line of family storytellers. So this is what I do on a daily basis–write memories, and stories heard, for my great grandchildren.

In my book, EVERLASTING CRONIES you will enjoy a heart-warming, coming of age story about a trio of racially diverse boys who experience joy, loss, conflict, and redemption during the rural Louisiana summer of 1949. There is beauty, romance, and the racial animosity of the Deep South during that pivotal period. Ample local color, the ghost of the old mule jail, a snake dance, and a traditional Southern funeral, punctuate the drama that teaches the boys profitable life-lessons about faith, trust, loyalty and betrayal. This one unforgettable summer moves this threesome to the cusp of manhood and cements an enduring friendship.

My blogs:

http://christiangrandfather.com/

https://andyoldhamphotography.wordpress.com/

My book Everlasting Cronies:

Kindle version

Paperback version

Signed version available at andrewoldham1@gmail.com

 

My personal motto:

Love God, Love Family, Love Neighbors = Love life

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… I am retired, Hallelujah! So my days are no longer considered work.  A typical day begins by waking somewhere between 4:30 and 5:00am. I start the coffee and head to my office. I read for about and hour and then start writing memoirs, short stories, and my next book. Some mornings I skip the reading and writing and head out with my camera for a peaceful trek outdoors.
  2. I lose track of time… while writing because I am usually in another world conjured up just like I want.
  3. I have always… enjoyed my quiet time.
  4. I have never… lived on a farm, but would like to.
  5. Home means to me… a place of comfort and solitude to be enjoyed by all who live here and visit.
  6. I am inspired by… those who share life stories form the heart.
  7. I would like to meet… Rick Bragg for a sit down conversation.
  8. My worst character trait… is staying organized. You should see my desk. Well, I am a writer after all.
  9. My best character trait… is meeting and making new friends in person and on the net.
  10. The best advice I was given… was by my grandfather. “Always stay young at heart, laugh things off when you can, and when you turn 80 dream a new dream.”

Everlasting Cronies

Everlasting_Cronies

Release Date: January 7, 2015

Review

 

2 thoughts on “10 Statements – Andy Oldham

Leave a reply :-)

