3 Quotes – Lev Grossman


Lev_Grossman

 

 

 

Lev Grossman
American novelist, critic, journalist

http://levgrossman.com/

born:
June 26, 1969

 

 

It’s a great thing when you feel that you recognize yourself, deeply and movingly, in a work of literature.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I started thinking about the endings of novels not because I think endings are so important, but because I think they’re actually not as important as they’re sometimes given credit for.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I read a lot of literary theory when I was in graduate school, especially about novels, and the best book I ever read about endings was Peter Brooks’ “Reading for the Plot”.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Lev Grossman?  🙂

 

8 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Lev Grossman

  1. I like the first quote since this is one of the main reasons I read, to get immersed in the plot but also, more importantly, to relate to one of the main characters, Karen.

    • This is an excellent choice, Robin. It is very important to relate to a character in a story. I have to refrain from reading/reviewing occasionally, if there is no character I could relate to at least a little bit.

  2. Apparently I don’t follow instructions very well, LOL! Here are two that I like:

    “Maybe this was one of those times when being a hero didn’t involve looking particularly brave. It was just doing what you should do.”

    “And I’m not as young as I once was. At my age, I don’t have time to be bored.”

Leave a reply :-)

