10 Statements – R. T. Lowe


TFC_Freshmen

 

 

 

R.T. Lowe lives in Newtown, Connecticut.

 

 

Social media link

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/TheRTLowe

 

 

 

My personal motto:

I don’t have one. Never thought about it. I guess I could be open to suggestions.

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… lots of coffee. I have three kids under the age of four and practicing law is how I pay the bills. I wrote The Felix Chronicles: Freshmen between the hours of two and six in the morning over the course of a few years. Now when I look at my finished book I see the sunnier side of insomnia.
  2. I lose track of time… when I write. The clock mocks me even on those days when the words stubbornly resist what I’m trying to say and I can’t find the ‘right’ tone.
  3. I have always… loved books and stories with supernatural elements. When I was six or seven someone gave me a book on Greek mythology and I must have read it a hundred times. I remember thinking that I was getting away with something; there was so much violence and crazy stuff going on in these stories and the adults were actually encouraging me to read it.
  4. I have never… done anything quite so lonely as writing a book. It takes forever, consumes every free second (and every brain cell that isn’t otherwise being utilized for something else), and is only interesting to the person doing the writing. Of course I absolutely loved it and that’s why I’m furiously working away on TFC: Book 2.
  5. Home means to me… my little house in Newtown, Connecticut with my awesome wife (I aimed high and got lucky) and my three boys.
  6. I am inspired by… the ability to create something (a song, a scene in a movie, a passage in a book) that triggers an emotional reaction (and even a physical reaction) for the person taking it in. A reviewer recently told me that one of the characters in my book (the “Faceman”) was so chilling that it ‘made her wince’ when he was having a dialogue with one of his victims. When I heard that I did a little fist pump because that’s exactly what I’m hoping for. I want my readers to wince at the prospect of ‘what will happen to that poor girl when she can’t move the piece of wood with her mind’. Spoiler alert: nothing good.
  7. I would like to meet… Taylor Swift. I love her. There, I said it. Don’t tell my awesome wife.
  8. My worst character trait… I’m terrible at small talk. I also have very little patience for conversations that don’t interest me and my mind tends to wander. If it wasn’t for my wife my social calendar would be pretty bleak.
  9. My best character trait… I can function on very little sleep (see No.1 above). On the other hand, if you don’t like my book I suppose you could argue that I’m obviously sleep deprived and should consider sleeping more and writing less.
  10. The best advice I was given… I’m still waiting on that one little gem that will clear the haze and bring happiness, fame and fortune. At least, I think I’m still waiting. After some thought on this one, I have to acknowledge the possibility that it may have already happened and my mind was wandering (see No. 8 above)

TFC_Freshmen

 

 

Genre(s):  Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

Series:  The Felix Chronicles, #1

Length:  500 pages

Release Date:  2015-05-11

Amazon US:  buy link

Review:  The Felix Chronicles: Freshmen

3 thoughts on “10 Statements – R. T. Lowe

  1. Pingback: The Felix Chronicles: Five Days in January (#2) by R.T. Lowe – My train of thoughts on…

Leave a reply :-)

