Soul Chaser (Raven’s Journey, #1) by Nicholette Campbell


Soul_Chaser_1

 

The author sent me a copy (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Life as we know it follows a clear course: a person is born, goes through life, and dies. We are not given the choice to deviate from this routine.

But what if we were?

Soul Chaser carries readers to a world where sixteen-year-old Raven Bishop must struggle with this choice time and time again, not for her sake, but for the sake of others whose lives she can save by repeatedly relinquishing her own.

The decision to die, and die over and over again, however, is not an easy one for anyone to make, let alone a girl who barely lived her own life—but the fate of Raven’s soul depends on it. Will she make the right choice?

 

Genre(s):  Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy

Series:  Raven’s Journey, #1

Length:  53 pages

Release Date:  2014-10-o2

 

Teaser


I often wonder how many souls Lucas possessed before he met his demise and how many more I’ll encounter before I meet the same fate. Would someone replace me, as I did Lucas?


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to 16-year-old Raven. She has a very difficult and noble task: If a child is about to die, she replaces its soul, keeping the kid’s soul from experiencing death by dying herself.

With Soul Chaser: Raven’s Journey, Nicholette Campbell has created an extraordinary story; the reader witnesses Raven’s experiences up close. The story comprises some of the deaths Raven has to take over, as well as some closer insights in Raven’s feelings. Raven and the events she was in kept me glued to my Kindle. I had an exciting time reading Soul Chaser: Raven’s Journey – it is a very compelling read. I was drawn into the story right away, an invisible friend. This story covers a topic, society tends to shy away from: The death of a child (or in this case, the death of several children).  This is for you if you like to read about a teenager with a scary task, a fictional story written to offer comfort to those who suffered the loss of a child.

I deeply admire Nicholette Campbell’s reason for writing Soul Chaser: Raven’s Journey:

“I’ve had several friends lose a child at a young age and it’s very difficult to find words to comfort them. Most have said ” if I knew my child didn’t suffer, then maybe, I’d be able to come to terms with the death.” I decided to write a book that offered a possible alternative to the end they feared. I chose two of those friends to be my Beta readers and both have said, they found comfort in the book.
The main purpose in writing Soul Chaser was to offer comfort to anyone who’s faced the very place I’d never want to visit. The death of any child is an unbearable thought however, if “Soul Chaser” helps just one person cope, then the message of hope was heard loud and clear.
About the main character: I felt compassion for Raven and worked hard to find a best case scenario for her discordant life. Her decision to surrender herself for the sake of others, is a lesson I hope we can all learn from.”

An extraordinary book, offering food for thought.

Recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Some twists
Mood Thoughtful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

My name is Nicholette and I am the Young Adult Author of Soul Chaser. Soul Chaser is my debut novella and is available on Amazon in digital and print format. I’ve always had a passion for reading and writing and have done both for many years. I tend to write emotionally challenging stories and I’m not afraid of controversial topics but I do believe in karma, compassion, and confidence. I’d never want to offend anyone but I believe there are all kinds of stories that need to be told.
I live in Tennessee with my husband and children and very much enjoy all the south has to offer.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Soul Chaser: Raven’s Journey?  Or – if you did not yet read Soul Chaser: Raven’s Journey – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Soul Chaser: Raven’s Journey was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Soul Chaser (Raven’s Journey, #1) by Nicholette Campbell

  1. Now this story is one that intrigues me. 🙂 Fantasy or SF “what if” story lines are ones that I tend to like, and like you, I admire the author’s reason for writing this book.

    • It is an intriguing story and – I had to take a deep breath before starting to read. It was definitely worth it, Teresa. Nicholette’s reason for writing this story is truly awesome.

Leave a reply :-)

